Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi, I'm a Linux newbie, and I'm going insane! I'm trying to set up my speedtouch modem so I can connect to my Wanadoo internet account... It isn't going well. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Access denied?! HELP!

Hi, I'm a Linux newbie, and I'm going insane!

I'm trying to set up my speedtouch modem so I can connect to my Wanadoo internet account... It isn't going well.

I followed various tutorials and discovered I needed to run something called "speedtouchconf.sh" with my old Windows 'alcaudsl.sys' in the directory. Well that's all fair and well... But when I ran it it said it could not delete 'speedtch' please delete it manually.

I searched around and found the folder in sys/module, but found there was an 'access denied' message when I tried to delete it.

I explored this forum for a while and discovered that even though I'm the only user on the machine, I'm not usually logged in as root.

Following various guides, I used the Run command and entered "kdesu konqueror". It asked for my root password, which I entered, then it brought up a konqueror window, with that Welcome message. I navigated to the sys/module folder, and tried to delete speedtch... 'Access Denied'... But... I'm root?? Aren't I? :S

Help me, if you can.

Hi - Personally I wouldn't use a gui tool to delete a file in that directory. You are probably worried about using a command line (a 'CLI' we call it) ... actually it's easier to use in this case.

Open up a terminal (looks like a TV screen) and become root. To do this type:
    su

Then enter your password. To navigate to the correct directory type:
    cd /sys/module

To delete the file type rm -f <name_of_file>

Replace <name_of_file> with the file you want to delete. He he ... some people copy that word for word!!