Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
during installation Mandriva 2006, i encountered error that is "No CDROM found" well in fact it is detected at the BIOS...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    fps
    fps is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3

    trouble during installation of mandriva 2006


    during installation Mandriva 2006, i encountered error that is "No CDROM found" well in fact it is detected at the BIOS

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Almere, Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    During or before the installation? Does Mandriva start the installation? You downloaded the Free ISO-Image? Burning problem? With what did you burn the ISO to a cd?

  3. #3
    fps
    fps is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3

    trouble during installation of mandriva 2006

    it's during installation right after you click <enter> to install mandriva 2006....the system pop-up a message 'No CDROM found'..i have the free ISO-image dowloaded from the site..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Almere, Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    I found this somewhere else on this forum:
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar
    Check out the cheatcode options available to you by F-key before the disk begins to boot. You might be able to tell the setup routine where the cdrom is, or enabling some of the other codes might let you get past the point where the install is breaking.
    Or this one (almost the same, might be easy'er to understand)
    Try some of the other F keys, in fact try all of them from F1 to F12.

    Are you able to start a text install? How about booting from the second CD?

  6. #5
    fps
    fps is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3
    by the way my im using ASUS P5v800-mx motherboard with VIA VT8251 chipset....i followed your instructions but no avail...maybe you could lighten up my mind how to resolve this problem.... thanks....

  7. #6
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Disable Plug&play in your BIOS, try booting with one of the following parameters:

    linux noapic
    linux nolapic
    linux noapic nolapic
    linux dma=off

    Maybe it works
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •