Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, i'm completly new to mandriva, and linux generally. But this is not the problem. I've installed mandriva on a separate HDD but the os won't start by ane means. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation mandriva 2006 wont start


    Hi, i'm completly new to mandriva, and linux generally. But this is not the problem. I've installed mandriva on a separate HDD but the os won't start by ane means. When i start it by selecting "linux" it stops working, and when i select other options there's a crc error when "decompressing linux". What might be wrong? Same thing is with ubuntu 5.10. HDD is a slave on second IDE, is this the source of my problem? By the way, I can't change the P'n'P settins in my BIOS, but the sys install's normally, without any errors. I'm looking foreward for your assistance and thank you in advance!!

  2. #2
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Can you disable Plug&Play in your BIOS?

    Edit: WTF???.. The reply button went weird. Moe, can you clean this mess up please? Sorry for the inconveniances. Not my fault.
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

  3. #3
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Can you disable Plug&Play in your BIOS?
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3

    @kojak

    No i have no P'n'P tag in my BIOS. It's America Maegatrends.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3

    @kojak

    maybe there is some other disribution whitch works without disabling P'n'P??
    I really want to learn using linux, i'm quite desperarte about it

  7. #6
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    This could be a bootloader problem. After all, it's likely that the distro would boot normally, so I think your bootloader is having trouble finding the Linux kernel.

    Sometimes there are strange IDE channel problems which are very hard to trace. Windows seems to tolerate these, but Linux won't. You may want to think very carefully about how you have your hdds set up because it could be a factor.

    For example, I only have one hdd set up as a primary master. One drive, one channel. My dvd and CD-RW is on IDE 2 ... One as secondary master, the other as secondary slave. If I were to add a second hdd it would be a primary slave. Some setups differ and this can cause terrible headaches. This is where building your own box is useful!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •