Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi. Firstly, I am a complete Linux newbie as I have used Windows for about 6years. Basically, I want to setup an old pc I have to become a server. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Help setting up Samba

Hi.
    Firstly, I am a complete Linux newbie as I have used Windows for about 6years. Basically, I want to setup an old pc I have to become a server. As I do not want to fund 65+ in buying another copy on Windows XP, I thought I could install Linux on this old pc. I have successfully installed Linux Mandriva and am trying to get to grips with it. Please bear in mind I am not really confident in knowing how to "execute" files and install programs and whatever on Linux but I am confident on XP.

My setup is: two wired pcs running XP, one wireless laptop running XP, wired pc running Linux Mandriva (latest version) all connected together with a Netgear DG834PN.

I want to save all of my files onto the Linux pc and share them between the XP machines. Therefore, after a bit of research, I have found out I need to use Samba. As far as I know, it is installed on the Linux machine as I can configure it's settings. I am not sure though if the server aspect of it is installed because I'm having problems making the XP machines "see" the Linux machine. I have been through the Samba tutorial and have applied all of the settings that it said to (workgroup name,WINS server,etc) but I still haven't had any luck. What am I doing wrong? I think the only problem is that Samba is not installed properly but I am unable to find out if this is the case. If it's not installed properly, how do I install it?

Any advice is welcome as I really want to get this working but im failing miserably...

Cheers, Rich

First you could try making sure samba is actually running.
    Code:
    su
    *root password*
    /etc/init.d/smb restart

Just Joined!