Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hello all i have downloaded mandriva 2006 free edition from mandriva site, burned successfully into a cd. but then when i have tried to boot from the cd it freezes, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Mandriva 2006 freezes


    Hello all

    i have downloaded mandriva 2006 free edition from mandriva site, burned successfully into a cd. but then when i have tried to boot from the cd it freezes, i have tried the verbose part, it freezes right when it says "starting ASLA 1.0.9b ... and then nothing, i have waited for 2 hours. i have tried ubuntu(both dapper and breezy) previously, and both ran alright.

    my pc is p4 2.66 em64t, asus p5rd1-vm mobo with built in sound (AC 97) and video (x200) with 1024mb ram.

    is there any way that i can boot from cd and install mandriva?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    5
    Did you md5sum the downloaded ISO file(s) ? Did you md5sum the burned image as well ? Are you sure the CD/DVD itself isn't bad, cracked, damaged, scratched or anything else ?

    There are options you can pass on boot like noapic nolapic acpi=off and many others. Any USB devices plugged in ? Try unplugging them and see if that makes a difference. There are many things to choose and to try.

    If you don't have a linux box to md5sum the files/images from, then you can check out the below URL for windows:

    Windows users: http://slavasoft.com and grab Fsum 2.51 or also check: http://www.nullriver.com/index/products/winmd5sum

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    If all CDs are fine try passing "nox" (check for the mandrake analog, this is for knoppix and there is one for mandrake as well, press f2 to see that when begining installation) option to the kernel to specify the kernel not to load X during installation. We can configure X when the system is ready.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    md5 sum is ok .. and no usb or any cdrom is in the drives. i have burned the same image into 3 discs using nero, and all 3 gives the same prob, i think its something in boot seq that doesnt let asla drivers to be loaded.

    when i press f1 in screen for advanced option, i get a command prompt with "boot>" .. what do i have to write to disable a specific kernel (asla 1.0.9b?) to load?

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    I am not quite sure about this as I have not been on MDK for a while but I am quite certain that there should be more help available with other keys (try F2,F3 etc.) I think they used to mention them on the installtion menu.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  7. #6
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280

    Cd

    Hi - sorry if this is too basic, but did you burn the CD as an ISO image?
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    i have used nero burning rom ... and as i can boot from it ... it is correctly burned.

    btw, this cd can boot properly in another comp with Creative vibra pci sound card (mine is builtin ac 97). i have disabled sound card in BIOS, but still .... same thing happens.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by deathstrike
    i have used nero burning rom ... and as i can boot from it ... it is correctly burned.

    btw, this cd can boot properly in another comp with Creative vibra pci sound card (mine is builtin ac 97). i have disabled sound card in BIOS, but still .... same thing happens.
    I still have a rather irrational idea that this might be something to do with your sound hardware. Suppose you disable the onboard sound again and plug in a cheap sound card. Not sure why this might work, but I would be tempted to try it as nothing else has resolved this.

    It really does sound like a hardware or a firmware problem (of course - I could be very wrong). It might be worth updating your BIOS if this is practical/possible/not too scary ...

    The other thing is: "ASLA 1.0.9b" . Is this a beta version of ALSA? Or an intermediate stage between 1.0.10 ? Check this out.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  10. #9
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280

    Alsa

    The other thing is: "ASLA 1.0.9b" . Is this a beta version of ALSA? Or an intermediate stage between 1.0.10 ?
    Yeah - I think it's alsa 1.0.9b - just googled ASLA 1.0.9 and got "did you mean ALSA 1.0.9?" ... So it does begin to hint at sound card problems as you said ... Maybe there is a MB jumper for sound?
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •