Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi, Can anyone please explain to me how to set up a static IP address on Mandriva 2006 please: I need a static IP for port forwarding on my Netgear ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Talking Static IP problem


    Hi,
    Can anyone please explain to me how to set up a static IP address on Mandriva 2006 please: I need a static IP for port forwarding on my Netgear DG834 ADSL Firewall/Router. I tried searching the forums for this but there was only one relevant post for mandrake and the latter was incomplete.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Well, one way that works for most distributions is to edit the /etc/network/interfaces file (for Mandriva, it might not be in /etc/network, but just in /etc).
    Where you see a line like this:
    Code:
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    change it to look like this:
    Code:
    iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.1.10
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            gateway 192.168.1.1
    This assumes your router uses address 192.168.1.1, and you want your network address to be 192.168.1.10.

    To be safe, just comment out the original line and add the others after it. Then if you want to change back, you can uncomment the original line and comment out the others.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southamerica
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by dayesh
    Hi,
    Can anyone please explain to me how to set up a static IP address on Mandriva 2006 please: I need a static IP for port forwarding on my Netgear DG834 ADSL Firewall/Router. I tried searching the forums for this but there was only one relevant post for mandrake and the latter was incomplete.

    Thank you.
    ..an other way (via KDE), not as quick as the posting of zelmo is:
    open "SYSTEM/CONFIGURATION/CONFIGURE YOUR COMPUTER",
    provide the root-password, click on "NETWORK/INTERNET" and then on
    "Reconfigure a network interface".
    Select "static" and type in the ip-adress you want.

    An third way would be if you have webmin installed.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Thanks

    OK thanks both of you.. I got it to work by the KDE method.
    cheers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •