Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Dear All, I fed up with my pc boot WinXP, please give me a hand. my problem as below: 2 hard disks Windows XP at Primary, Mandriva 2006 Powerpack at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy How to bootable my WInXP?


    Dear All,

    I fed up with my pc boot WinXP, please give me a hand.

    my problem as below:
    2 hard disks
    Windows XP at Primary, Mandriva 2006 Powerpack at secondery

    ************************************************** **************************************************
    fdisk -l information as below

    Disk /dev/hda: 20.0 GB, 20020396032 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2434 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 2433 19543041 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)

    Disk /dev/hdb: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 1095 8795556 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb2 1096 4864 30274492+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hdb5 1096 1216 971901 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb6 1217 2432 9767488+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb7 2433 4864 19535008+ b W95 FAT32
    ************************************************** **************************************************

    menu.lst information as below:

    timeout 10
    shade 1
    viewport 3 2 77 22
    splashimage (hd1,0)/boot/grub/mdv-grub_splash.xpm.gz
    default 0

    title linux
    kernel (hd1,0)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdb1 resume=/dev/hdb5
    initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd.img

    title failsafe
    kernel (hd1,0)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdb1 failsafe resume=/dev/hdb5
    initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd.img

    title windows
    root (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    ************************************************** **************************************************

    boot in Mandriva has no problem and everything goes smooth,but not WinXP it will appear

    ************************************************** **************************************************
    Remove media from....
    Press any key to continue

    and then will load to information roughly like below:

    GNU GRUB version 0.93 (640K lower / 3072K upper memory)

    [ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
    the first word, TAB lists possible command
    completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
    completions of a device/filename. ]

    grub>
    ************************************************** ************************************************** *

    I tired serial ways to solved it from internet such as change the grub.conf file with:
    map (hd0)(hd1)
    map (hd1)(hd0)
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    etc...all is not workable for me, even i format mandriva to redhat9,same problem will be occur!
    another way, change from WindowsXP side, try in Recovery Console type 'fixmbr' also not workable, even need to reinstall the linux again.

    headacde with it, please do me a favor and hope won't be just let me format my pc and reinstall this method.

    very appricated!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi hiyo !!!

    boot through windows installation CD and select repair 'R' and press 1

    on prompt type

    c:\> FIXMBR
    reboot.........

    well !! GRUB is written on MBR and create problems in windows boot up.. this command will fix MBR...

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Tripoli - Libya
    Posts
    5
    hello
    i had a problem like this one and i solved it like this:

    1- i installed grub into my primary disk in the MBR
    2- i booted linux and used this command
    dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hda1/linux.bin bs=512 count=1
    assuming that hda is the primary disk and hda1 is the C: partition under windows
    3- i ran the fixmbr as casper said
    4- booted into windows and changer boot.ini I have added this line "C:\linux.bin"
    hope i have helped u
    Medo

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy

    hey,thanks for devils_casper and medo_1987,but you might didn't notice i wrote at begining

    another way, change from WindowsXP side, try in Recovery Console type 'fixmbr' also not workable, even need to reinstall the linux again.
    fixmbr will rebuilt the booting process I can't even go to Linux after this, so I need to reintall linux again. but anyway let me try again. god bless it works this time!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi hiyo !!!

    if you already executed fixmbr then half of your problem is solved...
    now re-install grub using linux installation CD/DVD.......

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    hi,casper

    thanks for much help, it is not workable for me, after i did fixmbr and reboot pc, there will be "Remove...Press any key to continue", when i insert mandriva 2006 x Power pack DVD and try to upgrade the system back,but it will appear error and can't install and even rescure. what i can do is use red hat CD or Windows OS CD go in and delete the linux partition and reisntall the system only...

    aii...think next time when install should put Windows system in primary harddisk first 1st and then linux, never get this kinda problem.

    anyway, very appricate casper!

    best regards

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Is the BIOS set to boot from the primary hard drive?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    yes,boot from primary hard disk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •