Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hey everyone, I'm new to linux as well as mandriva, but I'm trying to figure out how to update some of my programs, specifically to Firefox 1.5. Before beginning, let ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4

    Firefox 1.5 installation problems on Man2006


    Hey everyone, I'm new to linux as well as mandriva, but I'm trying to figure out how to update some of my programs, specifically to Firefox 1.5.

    Before beginning, let me explain my system- Mandriva 2006 running on KDE 3.4 (which I'm also stumped on how to update).

    I have downloaded the tar.gz file and extracted it into /usr/local/bin/firefox. This is where the problem begins- from what many tutorials/explanations have told me, this is pretty much the end of installation. I have even created a shortcut with the icon- however, when I try to open "firefox" or any of the other files, nothing happens. I have tried double-clicking it in konqueror, typing "firefox" as a run command, and even tried figuring out the konsole- but nothing happens. When I use the menudrake link, a firefox icon appears next to my mouse cursor (as well as my program panel, but it disappears. If anyone has a solution to this problem, please help! One last thing- my old firefox continues to work just as it always did.

    -Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi lbeast777 !!!

    type firefox in terminal.....
    what errors it shows ???

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Hey Thanks for the reply!

    This is what it says:

    bash: firefox: command not found

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    command not found ???

    you wrote that you extracted firefox in "/usr/local/bin/firefox"....
    double click on the file "firefox" you extracted... this should be in the folder created by tar.gz extraction......

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Yes, that is the correct folder I extracted the files into from the firefox-1.5.0.6.tar.gz extraction. I have tried clicking on the "firefox" file. It does nothing it says it is a 5.1KB shell script. Is this correct? Because I'm new to linux, I don't know exactly what file format I should be looking for (instead of an .exe). I have even tried extracting the files into /home/programs/firefox/ and it does the same thing- it confuses the heck outta me.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi lbeast777 !!

    that file is correct, a script, which uses original FireFox in .mozilla folder.....
    i think there is a problem with your original firefox.......
    did you delete/uninstall any firefox file...... ???
    check /usr/local/lib/firefox-1.5.0.x.x.....
    and post the output of
    $ echo $PATH

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    I think you are on to something....

    I would have done as you said, but as I attempted to find the folder you mentioned, I realized that it did not exist. I could go as far as /usr/local/lib which was an empty folder. My current firefox was installed with the Mandriva 2006 3cd set. However, I discovered through menudrake that my existing (old) firefox link goes to /usr/bin/mozilla-firefox. Maybe that will tell you something. But I still don't understand why the new version won't run. One last thing- the unzipped folder from the tar.gz file also contains a file "firefox-bin" which is 9.5MB- but this does nothing as well.
    ?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okkk..... lets try a few things first......
    last time you got error "command not found"
    on terminal .. move to firefox folder using cd command and type

    $ cd /usr/local/bin/firefox
    $ firefox
    or
    $ ./firefox

    post the errors if any ...

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3
    hey one lib is missing in MDK. so
    Firefox 1.5 for Linux is available at http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/.
    Save the tarball to a directory of your choice.

    Change to the directory where you saved Firefox and extract the tarball:
    $ cd somedirectory
    $ tar -xzvf firefox-1.5.tar.gz
    as su,
    mv firefox /usr/local/firefox-1.5
    /usr/local is where Linux administrators install local software for users.

    Test Firefox:
    $ cd /usr/local/firefox-1.5
    $ sh ./firefox

    If you get the error:
    SCIM: im_module_init
    free(): invalid pointer 0x8265a30!
    free(): invalid pointer 0x8265a08!
    or
    *** glibc detected *** double free or corruption (out): 0&#215;08c033a0 ***
    click here and look at the section called "workaround".

    By running GTK_IM_MODULE=xim ./firefox you should be able to get around this error.

    If you get the following error, you must install libstdc++5:
    Error: ./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

    To install libstdc++5, as su type:
    $ urpmi libstdc++5 (see urpmi)

    Test again:
    $ sh ./firefox

    If you are successful, right click on the Firefox icon on your panel (taskbar) and select properties.
    Click the application tab, and change "Command:" to read:
    /usr/local/firefox-1.5/firefox %u
    **Note** If you had the *** glibc detected *** error, change "Command:" to read:
    GTK_IM_MODULE=xim /usr/local/firefox-1.5/firefox %u

    Firefox 1.5 will now open using the shortcut.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Palm Beach, Florida
    Posts
    62
    Damn Tarballs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •