Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I've read and installed everything in the Windows Media player sticky post in the top of the forum and WMA files still won't play on my computer. Kaffiene, Amarok, Mplayer, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10

    WMA won't play


    I've read and installed everything in the Windows Media player sticky post in the top of the forum and WMA files still won't play on my computer. Kaffiene, Amarok, Mplayer, even the VLC on linux won't play them. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    54
    Did you install the win32codecs package?

    Is this 64bit or 32 version of mandriva?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10
    I've installed the win32-codecs and, I'm running the newest version of Mandriva, downloaded about 2 weeks ago.So, I'm going to assume that it's the 64 bit version but, I don't know.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Raddolugama, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    27
    I had the same problem with Kaffeine also. But after i installed win32 codecs and configured xine im able to play anything. u have to set the win32 codec path in xine options to get it workin after u installed win32 codecs. i can play wma + wmv using xine and even xmms. But i still have problems with kaffeine. Dunno why cuz xine and Kaffeine use the same xine engine.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    I seem to remember it depends on which directory you copy the codecs into. I can't be more specific because I'm not on a Linux box atm. I think Kaffeine only looks for them in one place. Personally I use Kplayer and Totem. Kplayer - with the codecs - can handle most Windows formats.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy

    I tried to open the WMA's through Xine and no luck. I followed the instructions in the sticky at the top exactly as they were and I was hoping that would do it. Is there a way to uninstall everything and try to reinstall it? or, is there some link I havn't made or some more codecs that I need to get and install, because everything I've got SHOULD work as is. Thanks for helping, ya'll.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by Andreg
    I tried to open the WMA's through Xine and no luck. I followed the instructions in the sticky at the top exactly as they were and I was hoping that would do it. Is there a way to uninstall everything and try to reinstall it? or, is there some link I havn't made or some more codecs that I need to get and install, because everything I've got SHOULD work as is. Thanks for helping, ya'll.
    I can play WMAs using Xine. I think it's because I did something rather inelegant on my system: I have the codecs in both these directories:

    /usr/lib/codecs/win32
    /usr/lib/win32

    Not sure why I did it like that, but it works for me. Really you're supposed to use the ln command to create links between directories, but I didn't.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by fingal
    I can play WMAs using Xine. I think it's because I did something rather inelegant on my system: I have the codecs in both these directories:

    /usr/lib/codecs/win32
    /usr/lib/win32

    Not sure why I did it like that, but it works for me. Really you're supposed to use the ln command to create links between directories, but I didn't.

    I've got them in the /usr/lib/win32 folder, but don't even have a /usr/lib/codecs/ folder. Would creating one help? Or is there a way to tell my players, Amarok in particular, to look in the /usr/lib/win32 folder for the ability to play WMA files?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •