Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Bought a ProLiant ML 350 to use as a backup server, put Linux on it. It can ping my wireless router and Windows PCs but they can't ping it. arp ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stratford upon Avon, UK
    Posts
    12

    can't ping my linux box


    Bought a ProLiant ML 350 to use as a backup server, put Linux on it.

    It can ping my wireless router and Windows PCs but they can't ping it.
    arp from DOS gets correct MAC address. ICMP allowed in IPTABLES.

    Ping allowed in network config. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Are you pinging by (numerical) address or by name?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stratford upon Avon, UK
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen
    Are you pinging by (numerical) address or by name?
    Well I've tried both. The ML350 is called Hounslow (because that's
    where I got it from). When I try to ping it by name, the IP address gets
    resolved, but it times out. Same if I try by IP address. [192.168.2.12]

    Pinging from Hounslow [192.168.2.12] to windows boxes or the wireless router (which is also the DHCP server) works fine.

    If I try to open Hounslow.Stairforce from Win XP, it can see Hounslow\Homes
    (listed in a window titled Samba server 3.0.2) and Hounslow\Homes also comes up if I open My Network Places. (The workgroup is called Stairforce).
    But then it can't open it. I am not too worried by that, because I suspect I need to set the permissions on the shares, and I have not read up how to do that yet.

    I am using Mandriva 2006 (the one that is free, but on 3 CDs).

    What I am working towards, is to be able to map drives on the Linux box from Windows so I can copy data onto it which I can back up to tape (it has a DDS3 DAT drive, which I have been able to write data to.

    Also, if I can achieve it, I would like the children to be able run Linux sessions from their PCs using some equivalent of Remote Desktop connection, so they
    don't grow up thinking there are no other OSs than Windows.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Look at your iptables rules. Start out with no firewall just
    in case that's the problem. Not surprising you can see the samba
    shares, they work like "magic".

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stratford upon Avon, UK
    Posts
    12

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen
    Look at your iptables rules. Start out with no firewall just
    in case that's the problem. Not surprising you can see the samba
    shares, they work like "magic".
    I looked at the IPTABLES stuff and it looks pretty complicated. Spent yesterday evening reading up how it works. Looked at the services running,
    and IPTABLES was not running. SHOREWALL was, though. Tried stopping it and tried to ping the Linux box from a Win XP machine. Still no good.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4
    I had this same problem last week.

    from a command window type: drakperm

    this will bring up the security permissions and the current level it is set to. If it is set to anything above 3 then you will not be able to ping the computer. to set the security permissions type: msec X (where X is the security value you wish to set)

    More on the values: http://www.brunolinux.com/07-Securit..._Settings.html

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stratford upon Avon, UK
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs up CAN ping my Linux box!

    BGent, you are a STAR! Set security level to 2 as you suggested (I did not even know of the existence of this facility) and sure enough, I can now ping the Linux server.

    Next step is to share parts of it out so that the other PCs in the house can see it. Unfortunately, the notes I have on how to do that relate to Fedora, and I have Mandriva. They are more different than I could have imagined.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •