Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I'm going to start this off by saying I'm a newbie to linux. That said, I installed Mandriva 2006 on my pc. I have one drive with two partitions. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandriva 2006 hangs on Boot

Hello,

I'm going to start this off by saying I'm a newbie to linux.

That said, I installed Mandriva 2006 on my pc. I have one drive with two partitions. First is Windows XP which is in debate whether I'm going to keep it or not, and the second is Mandriva 2006.

The installation runs smoothly. I have a 5GB Swap partition because I keep reading that 2 to 3 times your memory is what is recommended. I have 1 GB of Ram and thought 5 would be a good rounded number for now. The rest of the drive is a simple "/" partition of an approximate 49GB size.

Mandriva reboots and LILO works fine. But the system seems to hang right after mounting the SWAP Partition is "OK"

Any suggestions?

Hello - That's a lot of Swap space ... Personally I would use less, but that's not what's hanging up your system.

Please provide a list of your current hardware, especially your video card. As a basic rule of thumb video cards can cause a lot of problems until you get the settings right.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

swap rule of thumb:
    RAM is 1 GB and less = 2x RAM size for swap
    RAM is more than 1GB = 1x RAM size
    RAM is more than 4 GB = 1/2x RAM size
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Kojak
    swap rule of thumb:
    RAM is 1 GB and less = 2x RAM size for swap
    RAM is more than 1GB = 1x RAM size
    RAM is more than 4 GB = 1/2x RAM size
    Thanks! Can I resize the swap partition after my system boots?

As for Hardware.

Its an Asus Motherboard with an AMD Athalon of I believe 1.5Ghz.
    1gb or Ram