Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
In my menu for Development environments I have: KDevelop Multilanguage KDevelop Assistant KDevelop C/C++ KDevelop Designer KDevelop KDE/C++ KDevelop Ruby KDevelop Scripting KXLDbg Don't you have all of them? I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined! buteman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Posts
    75

    In my menu for Development environments I have:
    KDevelop Multilanguage
    KDevelop Assistant
    KDevelop C/C++
    KDevelop Designer
    KDevelop KDE/C++
    KDevelop Ruby
    KDevelop Scripting
    KXLDbg

    Don't you have all of them?

    I only have a 32Bit Processor so do not have the 64Bit software installed.
    Perhaps they are not all available for 64Bit environments yet.
    Norm

  2. #22
    amr
    amr is offline
    Just Joined! amr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    32
    i have only in Development environments menue :

    1- IDLE
    2-KXSLDbg

    my version of Linux is mandriva 2006 free 64-bit 3-cd . Powerback

    do you think this is uncomlete version ?

  3. #23
    Just Joined! buteman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Posts
    75
    You do appear to have a cut down version. Looking at the Mandriva site it appears that your CD's contain a simple trial version. Try to get a full version.
    If you don't find one then, I think, you should stil be able to install an full 32Bit version for now.
    Try searching here http://www.mandriva.com/
    Best wishes,
    Norm

  4. #24
    amr
    amr is offline
    Just Joined! amr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    32

    Exclamation

    oh yea !! !! !!

    mandriva One Is full ?

    and Three cd is trial !

    that is amazing .

  5. #25
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    BTW: Anjuta IDE is also good

  6. #26
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Quote Originally Posted by buteman
    You do appear to have a cut down version. Looking at the Mandriva site it appears that your CD's contain a simple trial version. Try to get a full version.
    If you don't find one then, I think, you should stil be able to install an full 32Bit version for now.
    Try searching here http://www.mandriva.com/
    Best wishes,
    Norm
    There are no trial versions of Mandriva. There are live discs and 3 disc sets that contain full working environments. The live discs obviously have less software than the 3 disc set but you can access all Mandriva software by going to easyurpmi and setting up the main, contrib, plf and updates software repos.

  7. #27
    Just Joined! buteman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child
    There are no trial versions of Mandriva. There are live discs and 3 disc sets that contain full working environments. The live discs obviously have less software than the 3 disc set
    Sorry, not quite the right word to choose, but if you look here http://www.mandriva.com/en/download
    then it tells you about one CD and 3CD sets. Now I have several versions of Mandriva on DVD
    and looking at them they seem to contain far more than I would think can be packed onto 3CD's
    so my thought was that development stuff might easily be left out of them as
    these could be installed later anyway via easyurpmi/urpmi as you suggested.
    Or am I wrong again.
    Norm

  8. #28
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Quote Originally Posted by buteman
    Sorry, not quite the right word to choose, but if you look here http://www.mandriva.com/en/download
    then it tells you about one CD and 3CD sets. Now I have several versions of Mandriva on DVD
    and looking at them they seem to contain far more than I would think can be packed onto 3CD's
    so my thought was that development stuff might easily be left out of them as
    these could be installed later anyway via easyurpmi/urpmi as you suggested.
    Or am I wrong again.
    Norm
    Not everyone has a net connection and not everyone that has one has a speed connection. Removing devel packages from distros would be a problem for these people since things like easyurpmi would be useless to them.

  9. #29
    amr
    amr is offline
    Just Joined! amr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    32

    Exclamation

    i can't install kdevelop it gives me an error at the configuration step:

    please install Berkeley DB >= 3 and <= 4.1

    what can i do ?

    i cant install Berkeley DB >= 3

  10. #30
    Just Joined! buteman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child
    Not everyone has a net connection and not everyone that has one has a speed connection. Removing devel packages from distros would be a problem for these people since things like easyurpmi would be useless to them.
    True, but on the other hand these 'distros' I am refering to seem to have only been offered as downloads so having devel packages would mean that the downloads would be bigger and thus take much longer.
    Also probably a good proportion of those downloading these would not be interested in the devel packages so it would seem, on the whole, easier to not include them up front.

    This web page http://www.mandriva.com/en/community/mandrivaone compares what is available from Windows/Kubuntu/MandrivaOne and there is no mention of programming languages or development environments
    Norm

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •