Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Hello all, I wanted to get back into Linux after being outta the loop for the last year or so, so I downloaded Mandriva 2007 Free DVD from their FTP ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    10

    2007 Free DVD Install Problems


    Hello all, I wanted to get back into Linux after being outta the loop for the last year or so, so I downloaded Mandriva 2007 Free DVD from their FTP

    Burned the disk, popped it in figuring itd be as easy as Mandrake always was for me (ive used mandrake 6-10)

    I get greeted with a text screen where it looks like its loading something into memory or graphics memory or something, then it just freezes there, I cant do anything but reset the PC. No error message or anything

    What could be the issue? Its an Intel P4 Board, 3.2 P4 CPU, 1gb DDR400 RAM. Nothing fancy really in my system, regular IDE HDDs, IDE Opticals, AGP video card (Nvidia)

    Any ideas? Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Did you verify the checksum of the ISO before you burned it?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    10
    yes i did, and even tried redownloading the DVD and teh CD version

    It boots to the install screen for a split second, then screen turns black and its frozen. Sometiems the monitor says "Out Of Range" , but usually its just blank screen.

    Is there an issue with Intel boards, Nvidia cards, or any of that crap still in 2006/2007 with Linux? I mean come on

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    10


    this is the screen i get on the occasions where I can actually see the screen, other times I just get a blank screen

    any ideas?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by tshizzle
    Is there an issue with Intel boards, Nvidia cards, or any of that crap still in 2006/2007 with Linux? I mean come on
    No, neither of those should give you any trouble. Nvidia actually has the best Linux support among major video hardware manufacturers, and I've never known there to be any issue with Intel and any Linux distribution.

    The "out of sync" error usually means Mandriva didn't identify your monitor correctly and the vertical/horizontal sync values are wrong. Generally during the install process you get the option of testing your X Windows configuration before you exit. Did you do this?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    No, neither of those should give you any trouble. Nvidia actually has the best Linux support among major video hardware manufacturers, and I've never known there to be any issue with Intel and any Linux distribution.

    The "out of sync" error usually means Mandriva didn't identify your monitor correctly and the vertical/horizontal sync values are wrong. Generally during the install process you get the option of testing your X Windows configuration before you exit. Did you do this?

    No as this screen is the first screen Im greeted with - I cant even get to the actual installation

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by tshizzle
    No as this screen is the first screen Im greeted with - I cant even get to the actual installation

    anyone have an idea?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by tshizzle
    anyone have an idea?
    What kind of BIOS does your system run? Just wondering if that's the issue in some way.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by fingal
    What kind of BIOS does your system run? Just wondering if that's the issue in some way.
    not 100% sure of fthe top of my head, but its just an Intel D865 Motherboard. Ive had Mandrake 9 and 10 on here before with very few issues

  11. #10
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by tshizzle
    not 100% sure of fthe top of my head, but its just an Intel D865 Motherboard. Ive had Mandrake 9 and 10 on here before with very few issues
    Hmm that's strange. A long shot perhaps, but it might be worth booting into your BIOS and seeing how ACPI is set up. Not sure that this is really an issue ... However it's worth a go. You should be able to toggle it on or off, then try installing again. Likewise play around with plug and play in your BIOS ... on/off. See if that helps.

    If you have an old copy of Mandrake 10 have a go at installing that. Not that you have to install the whole thing. This would just be a way of figuring out if anything has altered on your system.

    The other thing is: that screen shot of yours is too big to read the error messages properly. Can you somehow get that message into a text file and post it on here? It seems to mention noapic ... sometimes that's a key installation issue.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •