Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have mandriva 2006 and I have a pretty nasty problem. I am using the linux-machine as a game server, so I'm sharing internet connection from it to my PC. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13

    Nasty gateways


    I have mandriva 2006 and I have a pretty nasty problem. I am using the linux-machine as a game server, so I'm sharing internet connection from it to my PC. From time to time ( for reasons I yet have to discover ) Linux changes the gateways of the 2 Network adapters to the internet adapter's gateway. So if I initially configure main-internet card like this:

    IP - ip given by ISP
    NETMASK - given by ISP
    GATEWAY - given by ISP

    DNS1 + DNS 2

    And my local area card ( one that goes to PC ) like this:

    IP - 192.168.0.1
    NETMASK - 255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY - 0.0.0.0

    DNS1 + DNS2

    Linux changes the gateway of the local - card to gateway given by ISP, not 0.0.0.0, thus cutting off my PC.

    Where is the problem ?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    637
    Are you setting the TCP/IP settings in the /etc/network/interfaces or are you changing these settings via the CLI? What I mean is, are you making the settings permanent by adding the appropriate entries in the /etc/network/interfaces file along with adding the DNS server IP's in /etc/resolv.conf? If you fail to edit the conf files any changes that you make will be changed via DHCP when you restart the machine.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker98
    Are you setting the TCP/IP settings in the /etc/network/interfaces or are you changing these settings via the CLI? What I mean is, are you making the settings permanent by adding the appropriate entries in the /etc/network/interfaces file along with adding the DNS server IP's in /etc/resolv.conf? If you fail to edit the conf files any changes that you make will be changed via DHCP when you restart the machine.
    Umm.. did't know about this I was using the GUI of Configure your Computer. But I disabled DHCP for both interfaces, shouldn't this have worked ? I'll take a look at those files later on, it's the same thing for me. I assumed on a logical basis that the GUI should be able to modify those files correctly though... Guess I'm still too "Windowed" to get used to these things

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    637
    No, your assumption is correct; however, whenever your add a route, take for example route add - the route is only available until you reboot the machine. The same holds true when using the ifconfig command to change IP address. As for the GUI (KDE/Gnome) should handle the configuration correctly. Can't voice from Mandriva exerience, I don't use it.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    I only said about ertain moments.. it doesn't seem to have anything to do with rebooting... this hapens quite a few times during the same session, without any reboot...

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker98
    Are you setting the TCP/IP settings in the /etc/network/interfaces or are you changing these settings via the CLI? What I mean is, are you making the settings permanent by adding the appropriate entries in the /etc/network/interfaces file along with adding the DNS server IP's in /etc/resolv.conf? If you fail to edit the conf files any changes that you make will be changed via DHCP when you restart the machine.
    /etc/network folder doesn't exist What do I do now?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •