Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Seems that by default Mandriva is set to not allow for root logins. When I attempt to login, it says that root login is disabled. I had created a second ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9

    Mandriva noob.. Can't login as root?


    Seems that by default Mandriva is set to not allow for root logins. When I attempt to login, it says that root login is disabled.

    I had created a second account when I setup the system..when I login as it, however, I can't seem to find where to enable the root login. Anyone know where this is?

    I need it..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Why do you want to login as root? It is one of the most dangeorus thing you can do while using Linux! A mispelled command may delete your whole data. You should always use "su" for temporary root logins from your user session.
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Yeah Juan Pablo is dead right. You can set it up that way, but it's not a good idea. It's a security risk and you might just point and click your system into the bin.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9
    Well, for one the system is a VMWare 'guest' machine.. so if I were to make a mistake (and learn something) then I can start from scratch.

    Is there another account I can setup to do setup user accounts with, system and server settings, etc?

    This 'pc' is being setup for apache, php, mysql, squid, and ssh.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Just use "su" before doing the administrative things
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Pablo
    Just use "su" before doing the administrative things
    Never thought of that, seems to work fine. Thanks much!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •