Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I am a newbie trying to get away from Bill .Replaced hardrive with new one to be sure Bill would not interfere . Installed all 4 installation CDs without any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    unable to open newly installed mandrakelinux 10.0


    I am a newbie trying to get away from Bill .Replaced hardrive with new one to be sure Bill would not interfere .
    Installed all 4 installation CDs without any problems but did not create a root password nor user name because no-one else has access to my computer.Big mistake as it turned out later .

    I coninued to install CD 5 (Supplematary Apps) but was uncertain at some point about which options to choose ,clicked around for a minute and...got stuck .Meaing : I could not get away from the present screen ,there was no " next " ,
    " cancel " or " back" button .right clicking " back " did'nt work ,I tried everything -I was stuck for good .

    Finally I saw no other option but to power off the computer .As I turned it back on it was in fail save mode ,then went to a protokoll of checks and eventually ended up on a black log on screen asking for

    localhost login :
    password :

    Of course since I did not create either I am unable to log in !
    What to do ? Does anyone have any suggestions other then buying yet another new hard drive ?

    Keeping my fingers crossed !

    Wolf.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    type 'root' as username and hit 'enter' key at password prompt.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    re

    thank you ,Casper from India ,for you response !

    I typed " root " and hit enter but instead of " password " the following
    appeared :

    [root@localhost root]#

    I did not choose a root password either so I am still stuck .Any suggestion ?

    Wolf from Florida .

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you are already Logged in.... its command prompt. now you can set root password. ( its highly recommended ).

    passwd
    enter new root password.

    now type 'startx'
    what it shows?



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    re

    I did succeed with your guidance to create a root password .Typing " startx"
    resulted in :

    "Using authority file/root/.Xauthority
    Writing authority file/root/.Xauthority " (twice )

    execve failed for /etc/X11/X (errno 13 )
    xinit: Server error.

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Can you post these files:
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and
    /root/.xinitrc
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    re

    no,I cannot .

    At this point I am back at a black screen :

    localhost login:

    I do have a root password but still no user name or password .

    I typed " root " at the local host prompt and then my root password and
    got :" login incorrect " .

    Any idea what to do ?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    are entering a correct password? check capslock on/off status.
    if nothing works, boot up from installation CD, and type 'linux rescue'. when you get prompt back, type 'chroot /mnt/sysimage'. change/assign new root password. type 'passwd'.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    re

    Casper ,

    It is are very kind of you donating your time as you do .

    Unfortunately I am still stuck .I had already checked the capslock issue and keyed in my password about a dozen times and tried this and that .

    How can I boot from my installation CD ?I tried two ways :

    1.I put it in the drive when the computer was on .

    2.I put it in the drive and then turned the computer off and back on .

    Each time nothing happened exept I heard the drive spin .

    I am considering buying a new drive and avoid the mistake I made the first time .
    Or is there a way to erase /format the drive with special software ,reliably ?

    Wolf.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you can use GParted to format or erase partitions. its one of the best partition manager. download .iso image and burn it. boot from GParted CD. erase/format partitions.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •