Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
IM USING MANDRIVA 2007,,,under the MANDRIVA LINUX CONTROL CENTER---HARDWARE----CONFIGURE 3D DESKTOP----it says---"NO 3d desktop effects ,,,ur system doesnt support 3d effects"... also detected that "rpm -qa | grep kernel" gave------ ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11

    NO COMPIZ ON NVIDIA 6150,asus m2npv-vm


    IM USING MANDRIVA 2007,,,under the MANDRIVA LINUX CONTROL CENTER---HARDWARE----CONFIGURE 3D DESKTOP----it says---"NO 3d desktop effects ,,,ur system doesnt support 3d effects"...

    also detected that "rpm -qa | grep kernel" gave------

    kernel-legacy-2.6.17.5mdv-1-1mdv2007.0
    nvidia_legacy-kernel-2.6.17-5mdvlegacy-7184-1mdk


    THE ERROR LOG IS------


    nvidia-installer log file '/var/log/nvidia-installer.log'
    creation time: Fri Nov 17 09:29:28 2006

    option status:
    license pre-accepted : false
    update : false
    force update : false
    expert : false
    uninstall : false
    driver info : false
    no precompiled interface: false
    no ncurses color : false
    query latest driver ver : false
    OpenGL header files : true
    no questions : false
    silent : false
    no backup : false
    kernel module only : false
    sanity : false
    add this kernel : false
    no runlevel check : false
    no network : false
    no ABI note : false
    no RPMs : false
    force tls : (not specified)
    force compat32 tls : (not specified)
    X install prefix : /usr/X11R6
    OpenGL install prefix : /usr
    compat32 install prefix : (not specified)
    installer install prefix: /usr
    utility install prefix : /usr
    kernel name : (not specified)
    kernel include path : (not specified)
    kernel source path : (not specified)
    kernel output path : (not specified)
    kernel install path : (not specified)
    proc mount point : /proc
    ui : (not specified)
    tmpdir : /root/tmp
    ftp mirror : ftp://download.nvidia.com
    RPM file list : (not specified)

    Using: nvidia-installer ncurses user interface
    ERROR: Unable to find the system utility `ld`; please make sure you have the
    package 'binutils' installed. If you do have binutils installed, then
    please check that `ld` is in your PATH.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by beacon_rahul
    ERROR: Unable to find the system utility `ld`; please make sure you have the
    package 'binutils' installed. If you do have binutils installed, then
    please check that `ld` is in your PATH.
    Do you have "binutils" installed ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    i downloaded binutils-2.17,,but im having problems installing it,,,,,,i created i directory as----/usr/bin/ld
    then copied the uncompressed binutils-2.17 into this folder(/usr/bin/ld)
    the errors as:::::

    [root@localhost binutils-2.17]# ./configure
    loading cache ./config.cache
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether ln works... yes
    checking whether ln -s works... yes
    checking for gcc... no
    checking for cc... no
    configure: error: no acceptable cc found in $PATH

    [root@localhost binutils-2.17]# urpmi binutils
    no package named binutils
    WHAT TO DO?????

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    checking for gcc... no
    checking for cc... no
    configure: error: no acceptable cc found in $PATH
    search for 'gcc' in Software section and install it. its available in installation CD/DVD





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11

    ???

    but where do i install this gcc from,,,,,abd gcc is always included in packages,,,,,im using mandriva 2007,,,,,why the hell do these distro people create such stupid probs,,,,,,
    any way jus tell me how can i install gcc,,,when my package manager says im up to date

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    OK I DID SEARCHED THE PACKAGE MANAGER FOR BINUTILS and gcc BUT THERE WAS NOTHIN,,,,,I ALSO UPDATED MY SYSTEM (52 PACKAGES,152 MB)....BUT STILL THAT SAME BINUTILS ERROR,,,,,
    THEN I DID -----urpmi as
    [root@localhost guest]# urpmi binutils
    unable to access hdlist file of "contrib", medium ignored
    no package named binutils

    NOW WHAT TO DO?????

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    i installed the same mandriva-2007free-kde,, on my frends pc--pentium 4,32bit,intel 82845 g graphics,,,,,,and the compiz is workin on his pc,,,,no binutils,,,,gcc errors,,,,,,
    SO I DONT THINK THAT THERE CUD BE A PROB WITH THE CD,,,,,the only thing thats screwing it all is the NVIDIA,,,,,aaahhh mannnn!!!!!
    now what do guys have to say?????

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •