Find the answer to your Linux question:
im new to linux and i am using mandriva i have downloaded wine 0.9.25 and i have it "installed" however, i still dont understand the setup with the folders, since ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

mandriva and wine

im new to linux and i am using mandriva

i have downloaded wine 0.9.25 and i have it "installed" however, i still dont understand the setup with the folders, since the rpm packager said nothing of it. also, i cant create any folders anywhere except for the /home folder, so how do i even run anything using wine from the command line?

At the command line, type:
    Code:
    wine <name of exe>
    You will want to run winecfg first (also from the command line).

As for folders, as a regular user you can only create and modify files in your home dir.

Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

I am also running Mandriva 2007 x86_64 and have installed wine.

Unfortunately I get the following errors when I run 'winecfg' from the command line:

Code:
    err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"winex11.drv": libXxf86vm.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon no color!
    err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"winex11.drv": libXxf86vm.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
    Unknown error (127).
    Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
    Unknown error (127).
    Specifically, I am asked for libXxf86vm.so.1 which I found in one of the x11 libraries, but but it still doesn't work. Do you have any tips?