Find the answer to your Linux question:
What up I know for a fact that my CPU is NOT overheating, since I've had this computer for over a year. I installed Mandrake Linux 2 days ago, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

CPU above temp threshold...

What up

I know for a fact that my CPU is NOT overheating, since I've had this computer for over a year. I installed Mandrake Linux 2 days ago, and yesterday I got flooded with the messages "Temperature above threshold" and "running in modulated clock mode", and it...won't...stop.

At this point, let me mention that I'm TOTALLY NEW to Linux. I've looked at solutions for this problem in other posts but have been unable to understand what the hell is being said. I need to stop this message flooding, however, because it's preventing from using the shell to configure my new system. If you have a solution, please be prepared to keep it basic, and if that's not possible, then please explain how to go about each step. I'm using KDE, btw.

Try booting with acpi turned off - you can usually do this by typing acpi=off when the bootloader comes up. Can you boot into failsafe mode?

Thanks for the advice, but I just lost my GUI for some reason, and am trying to fix THAT now. I'll try it out when and if I get things sorted. I've gotta rant a bit cause I'm seriously pissed.

I mean, WTF is up with this freaking OS?!?! While trying to solve one problem, another pops up without fail:

1) On the 1st install, the freaking thing tells me I only have 3 Gigs of space to install, when I chose a 20 Gb partition -- what happened to all the rest of the space??!