Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to Linux, so if anyone can propose a theory as to what just happened (and how to fix it), it'd be great. I shutdown Linux normally just last ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Boot problem

I'm new to Linux, so if anyone can propose a theory as to what just happened (and how to fix it), it'd be great.

I shutdown Linux normally just last night; I didn't change ANY system settings (or ANYTHING else for that matter) before I shutdown. Now, for some reason known only to Linux, the system won't boot, and I'm being thrown into the Grub boot loader command line (normally, Linux would just boot automatically).

And it gets worse: I can't boot from Grub either, cause when I type 'boot' it tells be the kernel must be loaded, and if I then type 'kernel', it tells me the path must be specified (but I have no idea what the path is, cause I just installed Linux for the first time in my life three days ago). Aside from that, I don't know what the other Grub commands do so I don't want to mess with them just yet.

This OS is seriously starting to annoy me...Where the HELL did this come from? I'm baffled...I didn't touch a damn thing...

Very quickly then - I have a train to catch! - find the Grub tutorial on this site and read it. There's nothing wrong with your system, but you need to configure Grub and save info. in a config file.

Must run!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

If you were able to get your hands on a linux livecd (such as knoppix) you would be able to boot your computer with that, and then do a little bit of poking around to see what's wrong.

For example, if you could find the contents of /etc/fstab and /boot/grub.conf from the livecd.

Post back here if you don't understand what I mean.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880