Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just installed linux for the first time and booted the computer up. Then it got me into the non-interactive startup. So I typed in startx but it give me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

A total noob need help

I just installed linux for the first time and booted the computer up. Then it got me into the non-interactive startup. So I typed in startx but it give me an error "no screens found". I have read on other forums and it most likely caused by my graphic card. My card is Radeon x850xt and I don't know how to config so that it will work. If anyone can help I would be thankful. I will continue searching for an answer to that problem.

What does it say in the prompt, on your left? What I want to know is which prompt you're in, the linux shell or a boot loader prompt.

Quote Originally Posted by tuyenluong
    I just installed linux for the first time and booted the computer up. Then it got me into the non-interactive startup. So I typed in startx but it give me an error "no screens found". I have read on other forums and it most likely caused by my graphic card. My card is Radeon x850xt and I don't know how to config so that it will work. If anyone can help I would be thankful. I will continue searching for an answer to that problem.
    in command line mode, edit xorg.conf file and change video Driver to "vesa".
    Code:
    su - 
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    execute 'startx' again to check GUI.

casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    in command line mode, edit xor.conf file and change video Driver to "vesa".
    Code:
    su - 
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    execute 'startx' again to check GUI.

casper