Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I downloaded the latest mandriva one live cd, played with it for a while and then installed it to the hdd (I'm pretty new to linux btw) anway, after this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cant Login to gui after live install

I downloaded the latest mandriva one live cd, played with it for a while and then installed it to the hdd (I'm pretty new to linux btw)

anway, after this I got to the enterered in a new user and stuff and then got to the logon screen.

now I couldn't login with this new account. whenever I try it acts like it's going to log in, but then after a long time it just returns to the logon screen. I couldn't logon as root either. I already reinstalled it twice with the same problem. I've discovered it only does this when I type in the username/pass correctly. If I type it wrong, I just get a "incorrect login" message or something like that.

any ideas?

thanks!

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    When you get back to the login screen, do CTRL-ALT-F1 and login to the terminal as root. Enter the command "init 3" and then logout as root and login to the same terminal as a normal user. Enter the command "startx" and post back any error messages you get.

Just Joined!

kubuntu 6.06

I'm having a similar problem. Yet I've been running kubuntu flawlessly since I installed a few weeks ago.

I ran the comands you suggested.

/user/bin/startx: line 132: cannot create temp file for here document: No Space left on device.
    /user/bin/startx: line 144: cannot create temp file for here document: No Space left on device.
    /user/bin/startx: line 144: cannot create temp file for here document: No Space left on device.

Fatal server error server is already active for display 0
    If this server is no longer running, remove /temp/ .x0-lock
    and start again.

Xlib: connection to ":0.0 refused by server