Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, I need some help... please?! I've searched around and I need help finding Mandriva Powerpack on a cd instead of a dvd... does anyone know where I could purchase ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wink hoping to try linux

Hey,
    I need some help... please?! I've searched around and I need help finding Mandriva Powerpack on a cd instead of a dvd... does anyone know where I could purchase it? Also... I've never used linux before and it seems that there are no ISPs out there that work with linux; how does that work? How do you connect to the internet using a linux system? I can't find anything on the web about this. Please respond... thank you so much!!!

CryingSwan

Take a look at http://froogle.google.com/froogle?q=...oogle&ct=title

What type of internet connection do you have? Who is you ISP?
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

You can order CDs from the sponsors of Distrowatch for one.
    http://distrowatch.com/
    There's OSDisc.com:
    http://www.osdisc.com/cgi-bin/view.c...linux/mandriva
    And LinuxCD.org (I've ordered from them):
    http://www.linuxcd.org/view_distro.p...fc5bca555ec581
    I'm sure the more experienced folks here know of others.

I don't know where you're located, but here in the U.S., I can do dialup with Earthlink (without all the frills and other Windows software) just fine.

I also don't know what your connection is, but I use a Linux capable modem configured in Network Configuration and activated/deactivated through Network Device Control. I don't know if that's the approved method, but it works for me.

I started using Linux in June last year, and with the help of the people here, have figured out most of it and made it work. I like it a lot.

If you don't use dialup, let me know. There's ways to make other connections work.
    Mike

Just Joined!
    Generally an ISP will state that they do not support Linux.