Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am a Linux newbie and have been trying for a week to install a purchased Mandriva 2006 CD/DVD to no avail. My system will boot from the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Can boot from cd but can't install...

Hi all,

I am a Linux newbie and have been trying for a week to install a purchased Mandriva 2006 CD/DVD to no avail. My system will boot from the DVD or CD, but after checking hardware stalls at looking for the installation cd or DVD with the message on the screen "disabling irq 22". The kernel messages on the screen look like it can't mount the DVD drive or the CD drive even though it has identified them both and shows them connected to hda and hdb. At one point I was able to get it installed by copying the contents of the DVD to my WinXP HD and pointing the installation to that folder. Once it installed, it still would not recognize either cd or dvd drive.

I'm sure there is a command line syntax I could use to get the program to recognize the optical drives, but being the newbie that I am, I am quite unfamiliar with the necessary verbiage. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Thanks so much!!!

Hi - I'm curious to know how your hard drives and optical drives are set up on your system. I imagine your motherboard has two channels: one for hard drives and another for optical drives. For example, if you have two hdds they should both be on one channel (attached to the same cable) and if you have two optical drives they should both be on the other cable.

Is this how your computer is set up? It's just an idea ... I think your problem may relate to how your hardware is configured.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Just Joined!
    fingal,