Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all im new to linux, this is my 2nd distribution. Previously i was using fedora core 1, it was too outdated for me to use the programs i wanted ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Java problem - executable jar files open as archive

Hi all im new to linux, this is my 2nd distribution. Previously i was using fedora core 1, it was too outdated for me to use the programs i wanted so i upgraded to mandriva 2007.

I downloaded GCCC a java chat client, which ran just fine on fc1, but after installing java on mdv2007, i can't get the file to execute. The file in question is gccc.jar, when i clicked it on fc1 it opened the program. but when i click it in mandriva it opens the jar in ark. I did some research and what i found was to use the command java -jar javafile.jar to execute a java program, and I've tried to use the "Java -jar gccc.jar" command in terminal, but it says "bash: java: command not found". I verified that java is installed (/usr/java/jre1.5.0_10) and i'm totally lost about getting this to work. I tried to login to root to do it, but when i try it says root login not allowed. any assistance is appreciated
    jason

Make sure you're typing java -jar somejarfile.jar and *not* Java -jar somejarfile.jar. Linux is case sensitive. Also, if you're sure Java has been properly installed, try using an absolute path to the java executable:

Code:
    /usr/java/jre1.5.0_10/bin/java -jar nameofyourjarfile.jar
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!