Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All I'm a newbie here and Linux so be kind. Well I took the plunge and repartitioned my HD and installed the Mandriva one live CD. I got almost ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Modem disaster - Help

Hi All
    I'm a newbie here and Linux so be kind.
    Well I took the plunge and repartitioned my HD and installed the Mandriva one live CD.
    I got almost all my hardware working except my modem. I didn't give up when Mandriva told me I had to DOWNLOAD "these drivers" for my modem to function.
    That is a ludicrous catch two situation!!!!!
    Well I didn't give up. I shut down and install one of my other modems I have and got the same results. I tried SIX modems, all with different chipsets, and none of them worked. At that point I was almost pissed, but booted windows ME and found some crippled (slow) drivers for a couple of my modems but none of them worked. :P
    After surfing the net for hours with Windows!!!! (firefox). I did manage to find drivers from a manufacturers site for my Jaton Wincomm V92 but the file type is *.tgz . Can I use this type of file with Mandriva ONE and how? Linux does not see my fat32 Win ME partition so I have no choice but to burn it to (yet another coaster) or put them on a floppy.
    At this point I fdisk /mbr and wiped out lilo and also wiped out the Linux partitions and left the HD space (8 gig) unused. Before I install again I have a few questions:
    - Did I choose the wrong distro, are there versions that come with "fully functional" drivers on the CD('s)?
    - Why does it appear that modem drivers are purposely being crippled or hidden?
    - How can I "easily", see and use my fat32 partition?

Although I am fluent at a DOS prompt, I am dead in the water with terminal commands, so if anybody gives me a command to run for that *.tgz file please include a real example of it's use and not just The syntax.

Thanks