Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
I am a new Linux User as of today so total NooB. I partitioned my h/d into two. Then installed Linux on the empty drive and already had windows on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21

    Windows not working!


    I am a new Linux User as of today so total NooB. I partitioned my h/d into two. Then installed Linux on the empty drive and already had windows on the other. However I can not boot into windows. At the selection screen i select Windows and it says

    Starting Windows 98...

    Type the name of the Command Interpreter (e.g., C:\WINDOWS\COMMAN.COM)

    My Windows XP pro install is on the D:
    Any help in either re-installing windows or to make this work that would be helpful.

    I backed up all information before installing linux so all i need to do is see win xp then im good to go. Any help that would be great. As well my Win Xp disk cant be booted.

    Hunter

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21

    Windows still not working but...

    I managed to mount the D: where all the windows files are. I just need to know how to run my windows. This means the windows files aren't delete but windows xp is not working thanks if anyone helps.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi hunterway !

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.
    post the output of fdisk -l command and contents of grub.conf file.
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    less /boot/grub/grub.conf




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21

    output messages

    after typing fdisk-l

    Device
    Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 383 3076416 12 Comaq diagnostics
    /dev/hda3 384 9729 75071745 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 384 769 3100513+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda6 5057 9729 37535841 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda7 770 1278 4088511 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda8 1279 2297 8185086 83 Linux
    /dev/hda9 2298 5056 22161636 83 Linux

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    after typing less /boot/grub/grub/conf

    /boot/grub/grub.conf: No such file or directory

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    my mistake. Mandriva uses menu.lst file and command is
    Code:
    less /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Windows partition is labelled as 'Comaq diagnostics' and i think its recovery partition. check folder /media/hda1 and /media/hda6. what is in these folders?






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21
    ok the less /boot/grub/menu.lst

    no such file or directory

    hda6 is my windows harddrive or partition
    and I dont know how to access my hda1

    Thanks for the feedback

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the output of 'ls /boot/grub' command.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    16
    hunterwey
    You do not want to mess with the Compaq Diag partition. If you wipe that one out there is a very good chance you will not be able to make any bios changes when you need to.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by wingruntled
    You do not want to mess with the Compaq Diag partition. If you wipe that one out there is a very good chance you will not be able to make any bios changes when you need to.
    i agree wingruntled but we are not going to *wipe* that partition though. menu.lst editing will sort out Windows Boot up problem.

    ehm...you chose Windows logo as Avatar in LinuxForums !!!





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Palm Beach, Florida
    Posts
    62
    I am sorry I could not resist the title of this thread "Windows Not working"

    What did you expect?

    Welcome to the forum

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •