Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I just installed Mandriva and im totally new to linux but i was told Mandriva was great for first timers. I must say i like it alot, im just in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Installing Winamp in Mandriva

I just installed Mandriva and im totally new to linux but i was told Mandriva was great for first timers. I must say i like it alot, im just in the process of installing software that im farmiliar with such as limewire/frostwire and winamp. Winamp is giving me a bit of trouble. I run the rpm and i get a message saying ¨some requested packages could not be installed: winamp-0.a1.i386 (due to unsatisfied Xfree86-libs) Continue installationanyway?¨. I tried to continue but the installation was unsuccessfull. I was thinking that maybe that the unsatisfied file mentioned in the error was a prerequisite file needed for winamp to be installed so i googled Xfree86-libs amd downloaded it in the form of an rpm and installed it, but with no luck. If anybody could help me or steer me in the right direction it would be much appreciated, i would really like to get winamp up and running!

I didn't know you could run WinAmp on a Linux distro. I use XMMS which is so much like WinAmp it looks the same! It would be better to install the package using Mandriva's package management system (urpm) as that would handle any dependencies for you.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Quote Originally Posted by fingal
    I didn't know you could run WinAmp on a Linux distro. I use XMMS which is so much like WinAmp it looks the same!
    and its developed by WinAmp Developers only. in starting they suggested name 'LinAmp' but finally released it with name 'xmms'. i dont know why?

Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.