Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Ok, I have just installed mandriva linux on my spare hard drive, my normal hard drive has XP installed. When the computer loads it comes up with the usual linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127

    Question Remove bootscreen, auto load windows


    Ok, I have just installed mandriva linux on my spare hard drive, my normal hard drive has XP installed. When the computer loads it comes up with the usual linux bootscreen asking me if i want to use linux or windows.

    I would like to get rid of that bootscreen. I want the computer to just normally load/boot WINDOWS XP and i want it only to load mandriva linux IF i have a special floppy disk inserted in the computer when i turn it on. Is this possible? How?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    yes its possible.
    post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst file here.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    This?:

    timeout 10
    color black/cyan yellow/cyan
    gfxmenu (hd1,0)/usr/share/gfxboot/themes/Mandriva/boot/message
    default 0

    title linux
    kernel (hd1,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=/dev/hdb1 acpi=off resume=/dev/hdb5 splash=silent vga=788
    initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd.img

    title linux-nonfb
    kernel (hd1,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux-nonfb root=/dev/hdb1 acpi=off resume=/dev/hdb5
    initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd.img

    title failsafe
    kernel (hd1,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=failsafe root=/dev/hdb1 failsafe acpi=off
    initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd.img

    title windows
    root (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to edit menu.lst file .
    edit these lines
    Code:
    timeout 5
    default 3
    hiddenmenu
    add 'hiddenmenu' line after 'default 3' line. save file and reboot.
    from now on, system will boot up Windows by default and GRUB menu wont appear.

    if you press Esc Key at startup, GRUB menu will appear and you can select Linux to boot it up.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    Access denied.
    Could not write to /boot/grub/menu.lst.part.

    How exactally do I change that?

    And thanks

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    And also, how do I login as root? I've tried just typing root instead of my username but that doesnt work...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    root login is disabled in Mandriva. execute 'su -' to gain root privileges.
    Code:
    su -
    gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    Its not working.

    Do I type it in "run command"? It does nothing when I do.

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    This is what im doing:

    1. Run command
    2. su-gedit/boot/grub/menu.lst
    3. it comes up "Unknown host su-gedit"

    What am i doing wrong?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to execute those command in Terminal/Konsole.
    exeute both commands one by one.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •