Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
When I tell the computer to shut down it gets to about 95% of the way on the progress bar then it just stops and stays there. When I click ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127

    Question Mandriva wont shut down


    When I tell the computer to shut down it gets to about 95% of the way on the progress bar then it just stops and stays there. When I click to go into verbose mode i see written "shutdown halted".

    What does this mean and how can I fix it?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    Sorry, correction it says system halted.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Just curious - does it switch your machine off completely or do you have to do that manually following a shutdown? Most motherboards allow for a complete power-down. If not, then ACPI might need tweaking.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    Well if I just told mandriva to shut down it would get to about 95% then stay like that, on, forever. So i hold in the computers turn on button until is shuts down.

    Can you help?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Some BIOS are buggy, I remember an option in menuconfig as a work around, don't really know how to implement it in a working system
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    23
    I have the same problem, if I restart it does everything fine but when I shutdown, it gets most of the way and then stops. I am running a dell Pentium 4, though one would probalby need the mother board for it to be of any help! Just thought that I would pitch in!

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie tommytabib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    127
    Operating System System Model
    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600) To Be Filled By O.E.M. To Be Filled By O.E.M. To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    System Serial Number: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    2.80 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    16 kilobyte primary memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5GD1-VM Rev 1.xx
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 1008.001 11/02/2004
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    120.02 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    50.34 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    ATAPI DVD DUAL 4XMax SCSI CdRom Device [CD-ROM drive]
    3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

    Apple iPod USB Device [Hard drive] (2.04 GB) -- drive 2
    ST340014A [Hard drive] (40.02 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 5JVQLHQ2, rev 8.54, SMART Status: Healthy
    WDC WD1200BB-00GUA0 [Hard drive] (120.03 GB) -- drive 0, s/n WD-WCALK1262660, rev 08.02D08, SMART Status: Healthy 1024 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'DIMM0' has 512 MB (serial number SerNum0)
    Slot 'DIMM1' is Empty
    Slot 'DIMM2' has 512 MB
    Slot 'DIMM3' is Empty
    Local Drive Volumes

    c: (on drive 0) 120.02 GB 50.34 GB free

    FROM BELARC ADVISOR

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5
    I'm having the same kind of problem, I installed Mandriva 2007 x64(HuangHe) and when it gets to the end sometimes it shuts down and sometimes I receive a LVM close error that has to do with /dev/cdrom.

  10. #9
    Just Joined! misfitpierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8
    I know on slower computer I had it would sit for awhile and when it did id just hit enter and type reboot and it would shut down as it was doing. Dont have that prob with new laptop tho

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    I think you need to enable ACPI to get power off during shutdown.

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/man...n-problem.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •