Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, this is my first post, and my first day with Linux. As an experienced Windows user, I decided I'd had enough bad experiences, and decided to give Linux a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    Connecting to Web by WIFI


    Hi, this is my first post, and my first day with Linux.

    As an experienced Windows user, I decided I'd had enough bad experiences, and decided to give Linux a go.

    Everything seems to have installed OK, and to be honest, my first impressions are that I really like this OS.

    I am having a problem though.

    I am using a Zydas WIFI USB dongle (that works fine under Windows) and Linux appears to see the dongle fine, and it picks up my BT Voyager router no problem.
    However, when I try to start a browser session, I can't get to any web pages.

    I'm probably doing something stupid (or not doing something) but any advice would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    710
    we will need to know the exact error before we can help you properly. open a console window and run the following commands, then paste the output here (remembering to wipe parts of any public IP). You may need to be root to run these commands.

    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    ifconfig
    route -n
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    Some more details like how your network is set up would be handy too (WEP, WPA, dhcp or static addresses, etc)

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kakariko81280
    we will need to know the exact error before we can help you properly. open a console window and run the following commands, then paste the output here (remembering to wipe parts of any public IP). You may need to be root to run these commands.

    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    ifconfig
    route -n
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    Some more details like how your network is set up would be handy too (WEP, WPA, dhcp or static addresses, etc)

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for the reply.

    Here is the output from those commands.....



    [root@localhost ~]# ping www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com


    [root@localhost ~]# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:6C:33: DC:44
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:225 Base address:0xc000

    eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:8E:04:07:18
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:256 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:256 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:20208 (19.7 KiB) TX bytes:20208 (19.7 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.X.X.X Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:256 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:256 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:20208 (19.7 KiB) TX bytes:20208 (19.7 KiB)

    [root@localhost ~]# route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    169.XXX.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    XXX.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo




    [root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # $Id: resolv.conf,v 1.1 2006/06/02 23:25:57 othauvin Exp $
    # Basic resolv.conf

    # search domain

    # nameserver XXX.0.0.X
    # nameserver XXX.0.0.X
    # nameserver XXX.0.0.X
    [root@localhost ~]#

    The network is currently DHCP and using WEP encryption.

    Cheers.

    Wadey

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    710
    It looks like your dhcp is failing to pick up settings. I'm guessing it is because you have not set the WEP key.

    Code:
    iwconfig
    Will show you all the wireless specific settings for your network cards. For the wired cards it will say "No wireless extensions"

    Code:
    iwconfig <wireless device name> key <your wep key>
    Will set the WEP key. The key needs to be in hex to work properly. If you have used a password to generate a key then prefix it with "s:" to tell iwconfig that it is a password rather than a key.

    Code:
    service network restart
    should restart all of your network interfaces, causing the wireless one to pick up fresh dhcp settings. (All these commands need to be run as root)

    If that all works, we can tell you how to make those settings permanent later on.

    BTW, everything in the 127.0.0.0/8 network is reserved for loopback, and everything in the 169.254.0.0/16 network is reserved for link-local addressing. Neither of these are useful to anyone not on your pc or on your network respectively, so you don't need to obscure them. See RFC 3330 for details on special use addresses.

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks very much Chris - really appreciate that.

    I'll have a go today and let you know how it goes.

    I wasn't sure which IP bits were potentially risky on a Linux system, so I wiped the lot (Mr. Paranoid ).

    Cheers again.

    Wadey.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Hi Chris,

    Well, I had a go, but still no joy.

    I'm sure it's me being an idiot, but I still can't get the web browser to go anywhere.

    I might try a hard-wired connection to see if that works, unless you have any other ideas....

    Thanks.

    Wadey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •