Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I've mandrake 9.1 version of linux. I confiured internet connection with pppoe a few months before. It worked well till a few days before. Usually when I connect, I'll get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8

    Question Connecting to internet but can't go for sites !!!


    I've mandrake 9.1 version of linux. I confiured internet connection with pppoe a few months before. It worked well till a few days before. Usually when I connect, I'll get a message like "Connected". Now I can't get any such.

    I'm unable to go for any websites or mail checking. Nothing works but its getting connected. I'm having win xp as well. Connection through that have no problem.

    Below are some of the replies that I got when I tried. Anyone please suggest me to fix the problem.

    Code:
    [root@new1 tdb]# pppoe-start
    pppoe-start: There already seems to be a PPPoE connection up (PID 1922)
    
    [root@new1 tdb]# pppoe-status
    Note: You have enabled demand-connection; pppoe-status may be inaccurate.
    pppoe-status: Link is down (can't read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppoe)
    
    ping 127.0.0.1 receives reply
    
    ping www.google.com or something else don't receive replies.
    
    pinging a DNS servers gives so,
    
    [root@new1 tdb]# ping 129.250.35.250
    PING 129.250.35.250 (129.250.35.250) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.1.1 icmp_seq=1 Destination Net Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.1 icmp_seq=2 Destination Net Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.1 icmp_seq=3 Destination Net Unreachable
    
    [root@new1 tdb]# pppoe-stop
    Killing pppd (1971)
    
    [root@new1 etc]# cat resolv.conf
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 129.250.35.250
    
    # ppp temp entry
    
    [root@new1 etc]# cat resolv.conf.OLD
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 192.168.0.2
    
    [root@new1 etc]# cat resolv.conf-bak
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 218.248.255.193
    nameserver 61.1.96.69
    
    # ppp temp entry
    What could be done ??

    Is there anyway to reset connection ??

    Thanks...
    Last edited by techieMoe; 03-21-2007 at 07:10 PM. Reason: replaced bold tags with code tags

  2. #2
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    1. Do
    pppoe-stop
    2. Do
    rm /var/run/ppp*.pid
    3. Do
    rm /var/run/ppp*.tdb
    Now do
    pppoe-start
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8
    Hello cyberinstru,

    I tried the commands given by you. But I can't see any changes. The problem still persists.

    Is there any other way ?

    Thanks for your help...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    Can you paste the output of

    ls /var/run/
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8
    This is the output of ls /var/run/

    acpid.socket=
    atd.pid
    console.lock
    crond.pid
    ifplugd.eth0.pid
    klogd.pid
    linuxconf.lockdb
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppd
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.start
    runlevel.dir
    syslogd.pid
    tmdns.pid
    utmp
    xfs.pid
    xinetd.pid

    These were found. Do need any more information to fix the problem ?

    Thanks..

  7. #6
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    1. Do "pppoe-stop"

    2. Delete these files:

    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppd
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.start
    3. Start pppoe - "pppoe-start"
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8
    Hello,

    I just now tried this too sir. But its not working..

    Can I be able to remove the pppoe setups and start from first ?

    Is there any chance for that to work ? How to do this ?

    Thanks...

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8
    It's just still replying the errors that I mentioned in the first post.

    I could find no change...

  10. #9
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    [root@new1 tdb]# pppoe-start
    pppoe-start: There already seems to be a PPPoE connection up (PID 1922)
    Sorry to repeat again. This log indicates either pppoe is running or some orphan pid files are present (if pppoe is not running). So that it is suggested to delete those files. Don't mistake.

    If you see such errors again,

    1. Check the output of "ps -ef" and see if the specified PID is present.

    2. Check /proc directory, if any directory with the name=PID is present.
    i.e., if PID=1992, then /proc/1992 should be present.

    3. Check /var/run for pppoe and ppp files.
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8
    I checked that PID presence in /proc . Its there only. I've listed the outputs that I obtained.


    $ ls /var/run

    acpid.socket=
    atd.pid
    crond.pid
    ifplugd.eth0.pid
    klogd.pid
    ppp1.pid
    pppd.tdb
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppd
    pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.start
    runlevel.dir
    syslogd.pid
    tmdns.pid
    utmp
    xfs.pid
    xinetd.pid

    I deleted the files starting with ppp* and then issued pppoe-stop.

    $pppoe-start (starts with no output like "Connected.. ")
    $pppoe-start (second time)
    pppoe-start: There already seems to be a PPPoE connection up (PID 1785)

    $pppoe-status
    Note: You have enabled demand-connection; pppoe-status may be inaccurate.
    pppoe-status: Link is down (can't read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppoe)

    $ps 1785

    PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
    1785 vc/1 S 0:00 /bin/sh /usr/sbin/pppoe-connect

    $ls /proc/1785

    binfmt
    cmdline
    cwd@
    environ
    exe@
    fd/
    maps
    mem
    mounts
    root@
    stat
    statm
    status

    $pppoe-stop

    Killing pppd (180
    Killing pppoe-connect (1785)


    I was totally confused. Anyother way ???

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •