Find the answer to your Linux question:
*update: I just noticed that my earlier conclusion was wrong, I am able to access other websites (I was typing in random sites in the address bar and I found ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Help, *Internet Only Connects to Limited Sites

*update: I just noticed that my earlier conclusion was wrong, I am able to access other websites (I was typing in random sites in the address bar and I found some successful ones like my school at www.ais.edu) I am sure there are more but I don't know how I would be able to figure out which ones I can visit and which ones I can't. BUT, I am still getting a "limited kb sending/receiving" in the network monitor -- though im not sure how true that is because the websites that i was able to access seemed to load just as fast as they do in xp (im dual booting).

Thanks for any help

-Robert

--------
    Hey,

I'm completely new to linux and I just installed mandriva yesterday. Today's the first time I actually got to "use" it since I've been busy with school. I was having trouble connecting to the internet via my modem (I'm using comcast internet via an arris modem) -- I did a search and wound up here and I read about connecting via ethernet instead of usb so I tried that and restarted and it seemed to work. The tray icon said i was connected and when I opened firefox, google showed up fine (i had set it as my homepage earlier).

Now, I went to my gmail and read my messages, etc etc. then i did a google search and when I clicked on a link it wouldn't load. Nothing would load. I tried typing in stuff in the address bar, but no website other than google websites load. I can access gmail, groups, do google searches, etc, etc but nothing else works. I tried using the other browser (konqueror?) and the same thing -- it loads up google (and the affiliated pages) but nothing else no matter how long I let it load.