Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Having downloaded the .iso and burned it to a disk using windows xp and changed my bios settings to boot from a CD I am still unable to get my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Noob and the Mandriva One LiveCD that wont run

Having downloaded the .iso and burned it to a disk using windows xp and changed my bios settings to boot from a CD I am still unable to get my live CD to run.

The CD is obviously being checked when told to boot but it does not and instead resorts to windows on my hdd.

I have tried CDs with two combinations of files:

1:
    mandriva-one-2007-free-gnome.iso (696MB the main file)

2:
    mandriva-one-2007-free-gnome.iso (696MB the main file)
    mandriva-one-2007-free-gnome.md5.asc + mandriva-one-2007-free-gnome.sha1.asc (>1KB, random files included with the download.)

I am totally new to linux and have looked around but found nothing explaining what I am doing wrong.

Linux Newbie
    What program did you use to burn the .iso images on to the disks with? Did you just copy the .iso image onto the disk and burn it?

Tim
    Finished building PC using PC Pro's A-List! Will add specs soon =)

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim_Wright
    What program did you use to burn the .iso images on to the disks with? Did you just copy the .iso image onto the disk and burn it?

Tim
    copy and burn in the windows interface - no extra program was used

Just Joined!
    A .iso file is an image file that needs to be extracted to a cd. Usually, I use Nero, or alcholol 120% but I think that you can extract it with say, winRar and then burn those files onto the cd.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by 007quick
    A .iso file is an image file that needs to be extracted to a cd. Usually, I use Nero, or alcholol 120% but I think that you can extract it with say, winRar and then burn those files onto the cd.