Find the answer to your Linux question:
help... i'm a linux newbie... i recently installed mandriva linux 2007 alongside my windows NTFS partiton a few wks back.. and i think its a great free OS .. but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unhappy help... linux newbie...

help... i'm a linux newbie... i recently installed mandriva linux 2007 alongside my windows NTFS partiton a few wks back.. and i think its a great free OS .. but i have some problems with it.. i'm completly new to linux so i hope you guys can help me out with this...

First.. :
    i heard of this software called Wine that runs windows apps on linux.. so i installed the .rpm file..
    everything seemed ok.. i download "flashget.exe" for windows.. and after i installed wine.. the flashget.exe icon changed to the wine logo..
    now the problem.. : i double-clicked on flashget.exe but i cant run it.. this is what i got.. :

i cant seem to find where i installed my wine tool to.. i looked everywhere..

Second.. :
    i want to install my ati graphics driver for linux so i downloaded the driver
    and i got a .run file.. i opened it but get something like this :

what do i do with it?

Third.. :
    i wanna download Mplayer for linux so i can play online videos at
    "stage6.divx.com" but i get some kinda of a bunch of codes..(i think.. coz i dont know programming..and i'm a script kiddie).. they say i'm suppose to compile them with something.. what do i compile it with?
    btw, i use Mandriva Free Power-Trail 2007.. not Mandriva One 2007..

Fourth.. :
    How do i log in as root? i keep getting "not allowed to log in as root".. on my log on screen..

Fifth.. :
    The reason with i installed mandriva is because the next time i plan to reformat my windows partition, i can log into mandriva and copy all my important files there and reformat my windows.. then after installing my windows, i can copy and paste the files form mandriva to windows..