Find the answer to your Linux question:
Last week I have installed my first Linux on my laptop. After realizing some of my hardware were not working properly, I have decided to download the latest kernel and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems with Kernel 2.6.6 and Mandrake 10.0 Official

Last week I have installed my first Linux on my laptop. After realizing some of my hardware were not working properly, I have decided to download the latest kernel and patch it after reading some articles related to my laptop model (HP Compaq NX9005) and Linux and possible solutions. I am a total newbie so please try not to laugh hard.

Anyway, here are my questions/problems I have encountered after patching and building kernel 2.6.6:

(1) This is the most annoying problem. When my laptop is on AC power, it is becoming so hot, I can't touch underneath of it. CPU is always on max frequency and the fan is always on max speed. When I was using WindowsXP, this was never a problem. The fan and CPU were running like mad only when I was playing a 3D game or so. Otherwise (browsing the internet, writing text docs, etc.) the laptop was always cool and quiet (sometimes the fan doesn't even work). I did not have the chance to check the cpu behaviour with a full battery test. But when I simply unplug the AC power and run x86info, the cpu still seems to be running in full power (1.66 GHz). Is there a way to build the kernel so that the cpu uses a task intensive frequency scaling (not sure whether this is the correct term or not)?

(2) This is only a minor problem actually but annoying enough. When I turn my laptop off, it doesn't power itself off. I have to manually press the on/off button after seeing "power down" on the screen. I can live without it of course but can't I make it work anyway? I have already patched the kernel with latest ACPI patch and ACPI seems to be on in the configuration.