Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, It's the usual thing. I am new to Linux. I have a computer that was running Windows Vista 64-bit, but I was having so much problems with it recognizing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless Network on Mandriva 2007.1

Hi, It's the usual thing. I am new to Linux. I have a computer that was running Windows Vista 64-bit, but I was having so much problems with it recognizing some devices that I decided to try Linux. I have an AMD64 3400+ computer and I want to take advantage of the 64-bit environment.

I got everything working except the wireless network. I downloaded the latest updates, kennel 2.04.14 and Mandriva recognizes my 802.11g USB adapter. I right-click the network Icon on the taskbar and I go to wireless networks. I can see 2 networks. One, which is my Windows XP machine that is using DI-524 router. The other is someone on the street. It says that the network is a managed, open WEP network. I have a network security key assigned to my network. I click on it and it says it's connecting, but I am not sure if it is. It says it's requesting network connection DHCP protcol. I assume I am connected but I can't find anything that could browse the folders on XP computer. Have do I accomplish this? Plus, when I had XP on this machine before, I was able to browse the internet. Would Linux be able to browse the internet using this wireless network?

Sorry for the newbie questions, but from what I see Mandriva seems to be better that Vista. At least I don't have to buy new devices.

Just Joined!
    I wanted to follow up on my above post.

I right-click on to the network icon and I see my wired network with a check mark but I think I have to have the rausb0 wireless checked, but I can't get it to change. How do I change it?

Just Joined!