Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I have a problem with Samba. It is impossible to connect to my network. The error message says "Could not connect to host local host (port 901). Anyone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Samba Connexion Error

Hi all,

I have a problem with Samba. It is impossible to connect to my network. The error message says "Could not connect to host local host (port 901).
    Anyone has an idea on how to solve this problem?

Cheers to all

Riganta

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by riganta View Post
    Hi all,

I have a problem with Samba. It is impossible to connect to my network. The error message says "Could not connect to host local host (port 901).
    Anyone has an idea on how to solve this problem?

Cheers to all

Riganta
    Quite difficult to answer this without knowing what you have done so far to set Samba up, and what you are doing when you get the error.

Firstly, you need to establish that your machines can talk to each other at a network level. Can you ping each machine from the others? You can do this from the Linux command line or a Windows command line (what long of tooth Windoze users (who? me?) call DOS prompt).

If thats OK, can you see your Samba share from your Windows PC? If not, have you created users in Samba?
    Have you set permissions for your Samba share(s)?

If you can see the share, do you get prompted to log in when you try to access them from Windoze? Is that when you get the message?