Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello All, First off I must explain that I am a newbie to Linux and relise that most of my problems are down to the fact that I haven't a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Online Radio Help+_ General Help

Hello All,

First off I must explain that I am a newbie to Linux and relise that most of my problems are down to the fact that I haven't a clue as to how it all works (I'm used to Windows where you just press a button and it just works! ) So here we go with the questions.

Can anyone offer any advise on how to listen to online radio stations ? When I am home I like to listen to Planet Rock but Mandriva will not allow me to do this. I have tried downloading a Flash player but have no idea if this has installed or where it has gone or if infact it is useable with Mandriva Free ? ( I am now lead to believe that not all linux software will work with all Distros " not good"). With this in mind how do I know if software will work with Mandriva ? and where can I find Mandriva software ?

Many thanks for any help you can offer.

Badger.Brad

Just Joined!

Online Radio Help for Mandriva

Brad, I frequently listen to the BBC (UK) radio stations (I'm in France) using the RealPlayer software that came with the Mandriva 2007 edition. I am not too sure if it is in the latest Mandriva 2007 Spring edition.

Anyway, I simply log onto the BBc website and then choose to use my standalone player - RealPlayer. It works every time with good quality sound etc. Once you have the Realplayer for Linux software installed you are away. If you do not have it on your system look for an RPM file version of RealPlayer. Once in place everything should be OK.

All the best

Tony

Just Joined!

Installing Realplayer

Hello Tony,