Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
you should use GParted from Ubuntu LiveCD only. it has Graphical Interface and its very easy to use. you can shrink/create partition during Mandriva Installation too. i would suggest you ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    you should use GParted from Ubuntu LiveCD only. it has Graphical Interface and its very easy to use.
    you can shrink/create partition during Mandriva Installation too. i would suggest you to use GParted only. create free space and Mandriva Installer will create/format partitions out of free space.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    Hi,
    Burn't a live disk of gparted - used the wesa enabled as display took a dive.
    Compressed OK to 49.18gig left 93 for mandriva plus a swap file.
    Installed OK.
    Boot = Grub with graphics at /dev/sda (figure the windows hard drive?)

    Now that I can get into the boot config in the graphical interface in mandriva if I select add - it gives another window.
    Selection is either linux or another OS (windows).
    which one?
    I get a window which allows me to enter something if either is selected.
    If windows it is windows0 if linux = linux
    plus another to select where the root is?

    What do i do now?
    which option do I select when I select add
    Do i overwrite and type Ubuntu into the window?
    And then select sdb1

    What i have on sdb is the following

    /dev/sdb5 / ext3 7.8 gig
    /dev/sdb8 home ext 3 80 odd gig
    /dev/sda1 windows ntfs 236 odd gig
    sdb6 swap
    sdb7 swap

    Would the Ubuntu root be on sdb1

    Originally with only Ubuntu feisty
    /dev/sdb1 ext3 (142 now 49 after resizing)
    /dev/sdb2 extended 6.09 gig
    /dev/sdb5 swap 6.09 gig

    Whats there now is a combination of the two.

    Could you mstep me thru this one please.

    Thanks
    Best regards
    Bill

  3. #13
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Now that I can get into the boot config in the graphical interface in mandriva if I select add - it gives another window.
    Selection is either linux or another OS (windows).
    which one?
    I get a window which allows me to enter something if either is selected.
    If windows it is windows0 if linux = linux
    plus another to select where the root is?

    What do i do now?
    which option do I select when I select add
    Do i overwrite and type Ubuntu into the window?
    And then select sdb1
    go with default options and dont change anything in Boot Loader Section. Mandriva installer will detect Ubuntu and Windows, and it will add both in GRUB Menu.
    you dont need to SWAP partitions coz Mandriva and Ubuntu can share same swap partition.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    Hi,
    On install mandriva never detected Ubuntu so I have to now add it to the boot menu. My two boot options are Mandriva , mandriva safe (something like that) and windows
    From the "configuration" menu how do I do it.

    Selection is either linux or another OS (windows).
    which one?
    I get a window which allows me to enter something if either is selected.
    If windows it is windows0 if linux = linux
    plus another to select where the root is?


    Thanks
    Bill

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    Hi,
    I've tried

    you have add an entry of Ubuntu in Mandriva's menu.lst file.
    boot up Mandriva, open Terminal/Konsole and execute this
    Code:

    su - mkdir ubuntu mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 ubuntu less ubuntu/boot/grub/menu.lst

    "asked for a password - ok"

    above command will display contents of menu.lst file of Ubuntu.copy first title block ( title, root , kernel and initrd lines ).
    open /boot/grub/menu.lst file of Mandriva


    "gave me a list which I couldn't scroll down"

    Code:

    su nano /boot/grub/menu.lst



    paste title block at the end of file, save file and reboot.

    "with little result".

    will try again, could be typo's.

    Looks like a triple boot thing I'm trying to do.
    be patient with me please - totally new to linux

    Best regards
    bill

    ps is there another way to get ubuntu back into the boot menu?

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    Hi,
    I can get the "Ubuntu.copy first title block ( title, root , kernel and initrd lines ). Copied.

    I opened a second konsole as I couldn't do more in the first?

    I tried and got to line

    "nano /boot/grub/menu.lst"

    and got command "nano" does not exist

    ??????????????????????
    oh darn.

    Best Regards
    Bill

  7. #17
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    try any other editor like pico, vi or vim.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    Cheers,
    best Regards
    Bill

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    OOOps
    Got into the terminal by using vi and vim.
    moved the curser with the arrow keys.
    When the cursor stopped at the last letter, return or enter didn't take me to a new line.
    Stupidly I hit enter and the text was added.
    Is there a way to delete what i've done??????
    Love breaking things - not.
    Whats there is not pretty.
    May have saved as a swp file.
    anyway hit kill to get out.
    Tried to get back in and it said recover so I did.
    Now I'm in the crap so to speak.
    Help.
    Ta
    Bill

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    Well all appears to be ok.
    Saved the original again as default.
    Rebooted and OK.
    How do i get rid of "/boot/grub/menu.lst.swp" ?

    How do i successfuly add

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.20-16-generic
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-16-generic root=UUID=5a3f01c6-01cd-4efa-98e
    e-44c92a023588 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-16-generic
    quiet
    savedefault

    At the end of the list?

    and if possible

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.20-16-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-16-generic root=UUID=5a3f01c6-01cd-4efa-98e
    e-44c92a023588 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-16-generic

    using

    vi or vim /boot/grub/menu.lst

    as nano and pico are not rcognised as commands.

    stiil have aKDE desktop.
    still cannot use enter or return to get a new line.
    still only have the arrow keys.
    and the terminal is coloured i.e things in red etc.
    in gnome its gedit/~

    what is it in KDE?


    Thanks
    Best regards
    Bill

    PS would really love to get ubuntu back as a boot option.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •