Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
hello I have my mandriva linux and i want to disable the root gui so that if log in to root it opens only the linux terminal or the linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36

    Disabling root GUI


    hello
    I have my mandriva linux and i want to disable the root gui so that if log in to root it opens only the linux terminal or the linux konsole?can any help me here regarding this??thanks

  2. #2
    Linux User DOllaBillz217's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    263
    Why dont you change your default run level to run level 3 in your /etc/inittab. Then everytime you boot your computer you will boot to command line mode, not GUI and if you want GUI you can just type startx and get your GUI back. Not what you were asking for, but its a possible solution
    $Billz

    How much wood would a wood chuck chuck if a wood chuck could chuck wood? None they eat plants!

    Dell Optiplex GX260, LTSP Diskless Workstation, Fedora Core 6

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36

    Disabling root GUI

    so all i have to do is to change my default run level to run level 3 in /etc/inittab? my question is in what particular line in /etc/inittab do i need to change my default run level to run level 3 because i don't what line here...please help me

    Thanks
    Paul

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It looks like this:

    Code:
    id:3:initdefault:
    oz

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36
    id:3:initdefault What it looks like after i edit it it simply just like this id:3:runlevel: or what can you tell me exactly what i do???thnx

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's my inittab file:

    Code:
    #
    # /etc/inittab
    #
    
    #  Runlevels:
    #    0    Halt
    #    1(S)	Single-user
    #    2    Not used
    #    3    Multi-user
    #    4    Not used
    #    5    X11
    #    6    Reboot
    
    id:3:initdefault:
    
    rc::sysinit:/etc/rc.sysinit
    rs:S1:wait:/etc/rc.single
    rm:2345:wait:/etc/rc.multi
    rh:06:wait:/etc/rc.shutdown
    su:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin -p
    
    c1:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/1 linux
    c2:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/2 linux
    c3:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/3 linux
    c4:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/4 linux
    c5:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/5 linux
    c6:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/6 linux
    
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now
    
    x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/xdm -nodaemon
    
    # End of file
    I've bolded the line you want to edit and make it look like mine (if you want a runlevel 3).
    oz

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36
    what it look like after i edit the line you bolded??where i place the run level 3

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the contents of your inittab file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Linux User DOllaBillz217's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    263
    Do you mean what does the file look like, or what does your startup look like? Your file should look just like the one posted above and after your computer boots up your login should look like this:

    Login:
    Password:

    Simple blank screen, no GUI or anything
    $Billz

    How much wood would a wood chuck chuck if a wood chuck could chuck wood? None they eat plants!

    Dell Optiplex GX260, LTSP Diskless Workstation, Fedora Core 6

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36
    thanks for your reply but i want is this if i log-in to root it simply in text mode or command line not GUI and If i log-in to another user account NOT ROOT it log me in in GUI mode....so i need to is how to disable the root GUI not the ordinary users account because i'm on a network of linux machine and i want my server to disable my root gui and if theres somebody want's to log-in as root he/she log-in in text mode or command line only...only an ordinary users can log in in GUI mode...thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •