Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello all, Background: I am very new to Linux, but a long time user of XP/Windows. I am helping a friend who has a Linux cluster (Beowolf setup) running Mandriva. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

eth0 Internet Connection

Hello all,

Background:
    I am very new to Linux, but a long time user of XP/Windows. I am helping a friend who has a Linux cluster (Beowolf setup) running Mandriva. Basically there is a master node and then 3 slave nodes connected. The master node won't connect to the Internet, but it will connect to the LAN. The strange thing is that this Internet connection was working previously for a few months. The last time we tried to get on the Internet however, it did not work.

Problem:
    Eth0 interface is configured with a static IP but it won't connect to Internet. For example ping Google in terminal returns no reply, but ping "slavenode" works fine. Also, Internet on other Windows machines connect to the Internet fine (hence I can send this email).

Attempted fixes:
    1. Changing to DHCP
    2. Rebooting and checking configuration list (check on Eth0 says OK)
    3. Using a different port on switch (which is connected then to dsl modem)
    4. Hitting Connect Eth0 in the lower right corner tab.
    5. Going into control panel and examining the network tab (everything looks okay)

All I see is the "x" over the network connection and it makes me very I don't understand how it can work for a long time and then suddenly quit.
    If anyone has any ideas that would be greatly appreciated.

One suggestion I would have is to check your default gateway because if you can ping within your network, but not outside your network, my guess would be something is wrong with your gateway IP address or some type of ip tables setting. Do you have a router in place for your external gateway?
    $Billz