Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i want to download mandriva one off the mandriva website and i need to know ,since im a complete newb at most window managers,if KDE or Gnome is faster. plz ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

kde or gnome

i want to download mandriva one off the mandriva website and i need to know ,since im a complete newb at most window managers,if KDE or Gnome is faster.
    plz help
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

GNOME if generally faster and more lightweight while KDE is more feature rich. My suggestion is to try both and decide for yourself.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

ok thx for your help.
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    See... here's a great example of the reason that it's always best to try these things for yourself and then make your own decision.

It so happens that KDE feels faster than Gnome on my computer.

Have fun experimenting with both of them.
    oz

I haven't had the BEST experience with KDE, but I must say, Gnome is more lightweight, more graphical in terms of effects such as Compiz and Beryl (3D/wobbly effects).

KDE is well known to fit businesses better as it seems to have better facilities such as menu's like built in searches on the openSuSe menu.