Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Well, the first problem is that I cannot access my windows formatted drive, Mandriva finds the hard drive in the hard disk partition manager, but I can't see the drive ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    A few problems


    Well, the first problem is that I cannot access my windows formatted drive, Mandriva finds the hard drive in the hard disk partition manager, but I can't see the drive in devices or when entering df in the terminal.

    My second problem, is for some reason even when using su I don't have permission to instlal J2SE. Here's what I get with and without su:

    Code:
    [root@localhost Download]# ./j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin
    bash: ./j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin: Permission denied
    Code:
    [Jeebles@localhost Download]$ ./j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin
    bash: ./j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin: Permission denied
    And my final problem, when attempting to run skype. (I downloaded the mandriva release)

    Code:
    [root@localhost skype_static-1.4.0.74]# ./skype
    ./skype: error while loading shared libraries: libsigc-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeebles
    Well, the first problem is that I cannot access my windows formatted drive, Mandriva finds the hard drive in the hard disk partition manager, but I can't see the drive in devices or when entering df in the terminal.
    Execute this
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Post output here. You must have root privileges to execute fdisk command.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeebles
    [root@localhost Download]# ./j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin
    bash: ./j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin: Permission denied
    Set execution bit of j2re file.
    Code:
    chmod +x j2re-1_4_2_15-linux-i586.bin
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeebles
    And my final problem, when attempting to run skype. (I downloaded the mandriva release)
    Install libsigc-2.0.so.0.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15
    Code:
    [root@localhost Jeebles]# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/hdb: 40.8 GB, 40822161408 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4963 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdb1   *           1        1019     8185086   83  Linux
    /dev/hdb2            1020        4963    31680180    5  Extended
    /dev/hdb5            1020        1528     4088511   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb6            1529        4963    27591606   83  Linux
    
    Disk /dev/hdd: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 20673 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdd1   *           1         645     4876168+   b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdd2             646       20672   151404120    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hdd5             646       20672   151404088+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    [root@localhost Jeebles]#
    The 160GB HDD is the windows one I'm trying to access, and I'll try doing what you suggested for my other problems thanks.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    cd /mnt
    mkdir hdd1  hdd5
    Open /etc/fstab file.
    Code:
    nano /etc/fstab
    Add these lines at the end of file.
    Code:
    /dev/hdd1   /mnt/hdd1   vfat   defaults,umask=0  0  0
    /dev/hdd5   /mnt/hdd5   ntfs   defaults,umask=0  0  0
    Save file and execute 'mount -a' command ( OR reboot machine ). Check /mnt/hdd1 and hdd5 folders.

    * You must have root privileges to execute all the above mentioned commands.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for your help, I've got it working now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •