Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am new to Linux and completely lost! When my PC broke, a friend of mine installed Madriva 7 on it. When it boots up it goes through what resembles ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    3

    Help Please?


    I am new to Linux and completely lost!

    When my PC broke, a friend of mine installed Madriva 7 on it. When it boots up it goes through what resembles a dos check then goes to a black screen and does nothing more. I brought it up in safe mode but don't know any of the appropriate commands to revive it. It tested ok at my friends house but now I get the infamous "black screen". Can anyone help me please? I don't know what to do from here and will accept any "beginner" jokes in exchange for learning what to do.

    Thanks!
    Munchkin

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Did you change the Monitor?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    3

    Help Please?

    Thanks so much for your response! Yes, there was a different monitor used when they set it up. The monitor I'm hooking it up to is a View Sonic G810. However, I'm not sure what monitor they used when they installed the OS. What should I do?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    When screen goes black, press Alt+Ctrl+F1. it will drop you at command line login prompt. log in and execute this
    Code:
    su
    XFree86 -configure


    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    3

    Help Please?

    I tried entering the string as you suggested at the command prompt but it says the login is incorrect. The prompt I get is:

    localhost login:

    I am entering:
    su (enter)

    then

    Password:

    XFree86 -configure (enter)

    Am I doing something incorrectly? I presume su is the local host login and XFree is the password. I tried entering the text as listed above and also as one string of text in case of syntax but it won't accept the login. Operator error???

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Yes you must log in with your own details first. The commands that were posted above are for after you log in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •