Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, complete newbie here. I've done ubuntu before, but new to mint... So I had Vista, created a Mint 6 XFCE liveboot USB... worked great... went ahead to install, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Mint 6 XFCE Install Problems

Hello all, complete newbie here. I've done ubuntu before, but new to mint...
    So I had Vista, created a Mint 6 XFCE liveboot USB... worked great... went ahead to install, did partition and everything...

Now, turning on computer to access Mint for first time, and I get:

Starting up...
    [0.349402] ACPI: Aborted because junk in gzipped archive.
    [2.972023] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block (0,0)

This is on my laptop, Acer Aspire 4530.
    What do these errors mean? More importantly... how do I fix it?

Thanks all, I really appreciate the help.

Also, I've found this Mint wiki on the issue
    and thoroughly read through, but I'm very confused! I see that since I cannot boot (well I can in Vista but that's no help) then I need to run the live usb and edit something to do with UUID's... according to this wiki. Well, I want to be very careful so any suggestions? Can you translate this wiki solution into more basic terms?

I've also posted this here.

Hmm...

I burned a live cd, now installing... it's asking how do I want to partition the disk. I'd like to just burn over the old one, they are now called sda1 and sda5 (half on each of the 2)... but my only options are
    *Guided, resize SCSI1 (0,0,0), partition #3 (sda) and used freed space ---in this case, it's only letting me burn over sda3
    *Guided - use entire disk (don't want to do that...)
    or
    *Manual --- in which it says 100% over everything.

Is there another program for doing this? Or something I'm missing? Or do I have to undo the old partitions...