Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 47
I'm inside the Mint Live CD now. I get this: mint@mint ~ $ sudo grub Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time. mint@mint ~ $ ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72

    I'm inside the Mint Live CD now. I get this:

    mint@mint ~ $ sudo grub
    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    mint@mint ~ $ mount
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.20-15-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.24-16-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /lib/modules/2.6.24-16-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755)
    varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
    udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    devshm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/mint/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=mint)
    /dev/sde2 on /media/ARCH'S IPOD type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uhelper=hal,shortname=mixed,uid=9 99,utf8,umask=077,flush)
    mint@mint ~ $

  2. #12
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    I am assuming you have Ubuntu installed on a hard drive and you can boot from it. If this is the case then post grub and mount info from there ... we can give modifications to files and commands to use from within Ubuntu.
    Because you did not post the output after running the find command in grub the information is not shown.

    You can post the output of the find running from a live CD but you will need to mount Ubuntu root/boot as well as Mint boot/root to fix the issue.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    Yes. OK I'm back into Ubuntu now. Will repeat mount command and paste:

    [ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
    the first word, TAB lists possible command
    completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
    completions of a device/filename. ]

    grub> find /boot/grub/menu.lst
    (hd2,1)

    arch@arch-desktop:~$ mount
    /dev/sdb6 on / type ext3 (rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro)
    tmpfs on /lib/init/rw type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,mode=0755)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,mode=0755)
    varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
    udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=620)
    fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    lrm on /lib/modules/2.6.27-9-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw,mode=755)
    /dev/sdb5 on /boot type ext3 (rw,relatime)
    /dev/sdb1 on /media/sda1 type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,default_permissions,b lksize=4096)
    securityfs on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/arch/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=arch)
    /dev/sdg2 on /media/ARCH'S IPOD type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uhelper=hal,shortname=mixed,uid=1 000,utf8,umask=077,flush)
    arch@arch-desktop:~$

    Thanks for the help. We have to go out for lunch now. Be back in a half hour.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by archp2008 View Post
    Yes. OK I'm back into Ubuntu now. grub> find /boot/grub/menu.lst
    (hd2,1)

    arch@arch-desktop:~$ mount
    /dev/sdb6 on / type ext3 (rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro)
    /dev/sdb5 on /boot type ext3 (rw,relatime)
    /dev/sdb1 on /media/sda1 type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,default_permissions,b lksize=4096)
    I'm assuming you have remove (hd1,4) result for Ubuntu in above. So you have Mint boot/root on (hd2,1). This means you need to replace (hd0,1) with (hd2,1) and sda2 with sdc2 in Mint grub menu.lst file. You also need to replace sda2 with sdc2 in Mint fstab.

    I suggest since you have Ubuntu able to boot the first thing to do is add an entry to Ubuntu to access Mint grub menu. To do this in Ubuntu open a terminal and type
    Code:
    sudo nano /boot/grub/menu.lst
    and add the following lines
    Code:
    title Linux Mint on sdc2
    root (hd2,1)
    configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst
    boot
    After that use ctrl+x to exit, press y then enter to save changes.

    Next create a folder in Ubuntu /media/mint and mount mint to it
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/sdc2
    sudo mount /dev/sdc2 /media/sdc2
    now modify mint grub menu using
    Code:
    sudo nano /media/sdc2/boot/grub/menu.lst
    change all (hd0,1) to (hd2,1) and all sda2 to sdc2, save changes.

    Next modify mint fstab using
    Code:
    sudo nano /media/sdc2/etc/fstab
    change all sda2 to sdc2, you need to change all sda to sdc (don't forget /home and swap entries) ... save changes.

    That should do ... shutdown and restart the system ... does Mint work?

    Ed: type carefully, sudo give root rights and assumes you know what you are doing. Make sure you add the /media/sdc2 to the file paths otherwise you will make changes to Ubuntu setup

  6. #15
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Mint menu should be modified to info below - note update in two comment lines also required (changes in bold)
    Code:
    =========================== sda2/boot/grub/menu.lst: ===========================
    
    # menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
    #            grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
    #            grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
    #            and /usr/share/doc/grub-legacy-doc/.
    
    ## default num
    # Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
    # the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
    #
    # You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
    # is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
    # WARNING: If you are using dmraid do not change this entry to 'saved' or your
    # array will desync and will not let you boot your system.
    default        0
    
    gfxmenu=/etc/grub/message.elyssa
    
    ## timeout sec
    # Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
    # (normally the first entry defined).
    timeout        5
    
    # Pretty colours
    color cyan/blue white/blue
    
    ## password ['--md5'] passwd
    # If used in the first section of a menu file, disable all interactive editing
    # control (menu entry editor and command-line)  and entries protected by the
    # command 'lock'
    # e.g. password topsecret
    #      password --md5 $1$gLhU0/$aW78kHK1QfV3P2b2znUoe/
    # password topsecret
    
    #
    # examples
    #
    # title        Windows 95/98/NT/2000
    # root        (hd0,0)
    # makeactive
    # chainloader    +1
    #
    # title        Linux
    # root        (hd0,1)
    # kernel    /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro
    #
    
    #
    # Put static boot stanzas before and/or after AUTOMAGIC KERNEL LIST
    
    ### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    ## lines between the AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST markers will be modified
    ## by the debian update-grub script except for the default options below
    
    ## DO NOT UNCOMMENT THEM, Just edit them to your needs
    
    ## ## Start Default Options ##
    ## default kernel options
    ## default kernel options for automagic boot options
    ## If you want special options for specific kernels use kopt_x_y_z
    ## where x.y.z is kernel version. Minor versions can be omitted.
    ## e.g. kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
    ##      kopt_2_6_8=root=/dev/hdc1 ro
    ##      kopt_2_6_8_2_686=root=/dev/hdc2 ro
    # kopt=root=/dev/sdc2 ro
    
    ## default grub root device
    ## e.g. groot=(hd0,0)
    # groot=(hd2,1)
    
    ## should update-grub create alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. alternative=true
    ##      alternative=false
    # alternative=true
    
    ## should update-grub lock alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. lockalternative=true
    ##      lockalternative=false
    # lockalternative=false
    
    ## additional options to use with the default boot option, but not with the
    ## alternatives
    ## e.g. defoptions=vga=791 resume=/dev/hda5
    # defoptions=quiet splash
    
    ## should update-grub lock old automagic boot options
    ## e.g. lockold=false
    ##      lockold=true
    # lockold=false
    
    ## Xen hypervisor options to use with the default Xen boot option
    # xenhopt=
    
    ## Xen Linux kernel options to use with the default Xen boot option
    # xenkopt=console=tty0
    
    ## altoption boot targets option
    ## multiple altoptions lines are allowed
    ## e.g. altoptions=(extra menu suffix) extra boot options
    ##      altoptions=(recovery mode) single
    # altoptions=(recovery mode) single
    
    ## controls how many kernels should be put into the menu.lst
    ## only counts the first occurence of a kernel, not the
    ## alternative kernel options
    ## e.g. howmany=all
    ##      howmany=7
    # howmany=all
    
    ## should update-grub create memtest86 boot option
    ## e.g. memtest86=true
    ##      memtest86=false
    # memtest86=true
    
    ## should update-grub adjust the value of the default booted system
    ## can be true or false
    # updatedefaultentry=false
    
    ## should update-grub add savedefault to the default options
    ## can be true or false
    # savedefault=false
    
    ## ## End Default Options ##
    
    title        Linux Mint, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    root        (hd2,1)
    kernel        /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=/dev/sdc2 ro quiet splash
    initrd        /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    
    title        Linux Mint, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic (recovery mode)
    root        (hd2,1)
    kernel        /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=/dev/sdc2 ro single
    initrd        /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    
    title        Linux Mint, kernel memtest86+
    root        (hd2,1)
    kernel        /boot/memtest86+.bin
    
    ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    Yes, it does! You also added Mint to my menu. That's a very nice touch that I didn't have before and didn't expect. The only hitch was that I had to run "recovery mode" for Mint to get it started the first time. After that the generic option worked. I haven't looked at the last part of your post yet, but I will do so now. Thanks so much for this! I'm so impressed.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    Jonathan,

    i notice that, sometimes, Mint loading ends with just the prompt (initramfs). If I restart and go recovery mode I can get in. Is there a reason why this happens or is there a fix? Is there a command I could type when it comes up (initramfs) to make it finish? I do notice also that sometimes when I quit from Mint I see a some lines of error messages scroll down the screen. I don't see any pattern to when these things happen and when they don't. Thanks in advance for your continued assistance.

    Arch

  9. #18
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    I'm not sure what is causing that ... probably worth checking logs for any clues when you start in recovery mode, and check if
    Code:
    dmesg
    gives any clues.

    Glad you have things working ...

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    I seem to have a good "problem." Mint seems to be booting normally all the time now. Is recovery mode self-correcting in some way? Last night I happened to come across Mint 7 RC1,so I burned it to a CD for future use. I wonder if I do a fresh install of Mint 7 on the same partitions where I now have Mint 5, will the boot option that you have added for Mint 5 still work for Mint 7. How difficult would it be to figure out how to add options to Grub for my various existing Windows installations on my other drives. Being a multiboot user, I really need to learn how to do that, so that if and when I add a fourth drive, editing boot.lst will be simple for me to do, and I won't have to come back here again. Thanks so much!

  11. #20
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    IF you install Mint 7, it will automagically set up grub for you, it should detect windows too. There is nothing wrong with installing Mint 7 to the same partitions but you really should format it when you install Mint 7.
    How difficult would it be to figure out how to add options to Grub for my various existing Windows installations on my other drives. Being a multiboot user, I really need to learn how to do that, so that if and when I add a fourth drive, editing boot.lst will be simple for me to do, and I won't have to come back here again. Thanks so much!
    It isn't that difficult at all, as a matter of fact you could just set it up one time and make a backup of grub.conf so you can just copy and paste it each time you reinstall grub. Of course if you add/remove hard drives then the driver letters will change and you'll have to manually edit grub.conf
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •