Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47
Thanks for this additional info. I'm still not too confident. I never heard of grub.conf before. When I originally installed my operating systems, especially Windows but also Linux, I was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72

    Thanks for this additional info. I'm still not too confident. I never heard of grub.conf before. When I originally installed my operating systems, especially Windows but also Linux, I was afraid of overwriting the wrong MBR and losing access to most of my stuff on WinXP(32), so I disconnected all drives except the one on which I was installing the OS. I guess that's why I have to use BIOS now. So, if I install Mint 7 to my third drive now, with all other drives also connected, that will be different than when I installed Mint 5 the first time, as then I only had that one (third) drive connected to the motherboard. How will Grub know which drive to write to? Will it still write to the first drive - the one that I use most of the time or will it write to the drive that it's located on? Is there a way to control this?

  2. #22
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I'm not a master at grub or anything, I just installed Mint 7 a few days ago and it picked up 3 distros that I have installed. It correctly set up grub onto the MBR of the first drive. There is a way to change this during the installation but I'm not familiar with it. And like I was saying, get grub set up the way you like it and then copy it to a safe place so that you can refer to it at a later time, if you need to manually set things up. Grub.conf and menu.lst are basically the same thing, some distros use grub.conf and some use menu.lst but they both belong to grub. Usually, even if a distro mucks up your MBR, you can still edit grub by hand to add windows.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #23
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    After you install the first distro, when you do further installs it is best to install grub to the boot record of the root partition of the distro you are installing to. So if you select /dev/sdc2 as the root for Mint then install grub to /dev/sdc2 also.

    I use either configfile or chainloader to link grub menus for each distro together, and provided you install Mint to the same partition the existing grub menu entry will work.
    Installers tend to create menu entries for existing distros but I create an entry to load each distro configfile so that when things like kernel updates happen the grub menu entries are automatically updated.

    Loading windows usually requires three or five lines depending on whether Windows is on the first harddrive (the system boots from).
    Code:
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    (hd0,0)=/dev/sda1. If Windows is on /dev/sda2 then change (hd0,0) to (hd0,1).

    If Windows is not on the first drive then the code is
    Code:
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1
    (hd1,0)=/dev/sdb1, (hd1,1)=/dev/sdb2 etc.
    If Windows is on sdc1 then replace hd1 with hd2 in rootnoverify and map commands.

    You can cure most bootloader issues using a combination of Supergrub and a live CD. Hope that helps.

  4. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    Yes. Thanks so much. Unfortunately, I did not read your last posting in time. I installed Mint 7 to the IDE drive with that drive alone connected. It worked for awhile via BIOS, but now has stopped booting, probably because of some subsequent changes I made to other disk partitions which changed the numbering sequence. I need to figure out myself now how to do for Mint 7 what you did for Mint 5, then, I will have the option of getting rid of Mint 5, but there is a game on Mint 5 that I play all the time that I can't seem to get on Mint 7. I've also had some problems with trying to dual boot various Vista clones. It's beginning to give me brain cramps. In any case, I will be reading your postings over and over again, and doing some other research, until it finally starts to sink into my head. All the best!

  5. #25
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    You will get there ... if you need some help with this post fdisk -l output and contents of grub menu.lst Cant help much with the game ... but check synaptic package manager and search for the package name.

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    I just switched to the IDE drive via BIOS, but it booted directly into Vista without loading the grub that was on that disk at all! What could cause that to happen?

  7. #27
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Try re-installing grub to the MBR ... on startup the system will look for code in the MBR, then start searching for bootable partitions. Stage 1 of grub needs to be in the MBR otherwise a bootable partition will be found ... if it exists (and Windows partitions are usually marked bootable).

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    Thanks. I did this from the Mint 7 live CD. I think I got myself into this by using EasyBCD incorrectly. I had to install Gnome Games from Software Manager to get my Solitaire game back. Now if only I could figure out how to force Win7 to dual boot with this WinVista.

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    I did figure out how to dual boot the two Windows versions However, in the case of the Mint 7, the grub failed to load after I reconnected the other drives, so I guess I have to edit the menu.lst to reflect the presence of the other drives. From the live Mint 7 CD:

    mint@mint ~ $ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x07510751

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 35120 282101368+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 35121 35125 40162+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 35126 35368 1951897+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda4 35369 38913 28475212+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 35369 35639 2176776 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 35640 38913 26298372+ 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/sdb: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xdd480922

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 63 506016 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sdb2 64 732 5373742+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb3 733 1045 2514172+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb4 1046 77825 616735350 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 1046 16773 126335128+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb6 16774 77825 490400158+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sdc: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x5d7d47e1

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdc1 1 3942 31662080 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdc2 * 3943 6667 21888562+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdc3 6668 48441 335548631 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdc4 48442 121601 587657700 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sdd: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xba1a5abd

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdd1 * 1 7817 62788156 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdd2 7817 9155 10742187+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sdd3 9156 9729 4610655 5 Extended
    /dev/sdd5 9156 9729 4610623+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    mint@mint ~ $

    How can I tell from that how to find and edit the menu.lst for Mint 7. It doesn't matter to me which drive the grub menu appears on, as long as I can get into Mint 7. Right now I have Ubuntu as well as Mint 5 and Mint 7. I will probably get rid of the Mint 5 when I get the Mint 7 working with all drives connected. Thanks in advance for your patience.

  10. #30
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    OK pick to boot from the drive which gives you the largest number of options you want which work ... Ubuntu + Windows + Mint 5?

    Then start Linux, open a terminal and post output of
    Code:
    sudo grub
    find /boot/grub/menu.lst
    then
    Code:
    quit
    mount
    cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •