Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok so i'm completely new to linux in every way possible. I thought i would give linux a try since there was no reason not to. Usually i can pick ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Mint-8

Ok so i'm completely new to linux in every way possible. I thought i would give linux a try since there was no reason not to. Usually i can pick up on things and resolve them on my own but this isnt my usual. So i have installed mint 8 on my macbook pro. But i cant seen to get audio working or the backlight on the keyboard. Also my usb wifi adapter based on the rt3070 chip. Any help would be much appreciated. Below is some info on my mac it might be useful idk but i though i would include it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MacX-Win7-Mint8 ~ $ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Host Bridge (rev b1)
    00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
    00:03.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 LPC Bridge (rev b3)
    00:03.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
    00:03.2 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP79 SMBus (rev b1)
    00:03.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
    00:03.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0a98 (rev b1)
    00:03.5 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Co-processor (rev b1)
    00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev b1)
    00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
    00:06.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev b1)
    00:06.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
    00:08.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP79 High Definition Audio (rev b1)
    00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Bridge (rev b1)