Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
When I watch a video with VLC, it is start off ok but then a couple seconds after the sounds cuts out completely, Then I go in Audio and change ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72

    Mint 9 Audio trouble with VLC


    When I watch a video with VLC, it is start off ok but then a couple seconds after the sounds cuts out completely,

    Then I go in Audio and change the audio channel to 'Reverse stereo" and the sound will come back only for a few seconds, then I will change then channel again and then the sound will work only for a few seconds.

    What is this? Can you remove PulseAudio from the package manager or the terminal? Is it possible in Mint?

    I have done some searching but everything is coming up for Mint 8 and I am on Mint 9

    Any ideas please?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Just curious, does sound work pretty good in other applications?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72
    It seems ok in Rhythm box but have not tried it alot. Tried to watch a few videos but no sound or sound poping in and out. The other players dont seem to work at all

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    It sounds like maybe the system does not have sound properly set up.
    Can you post the output of

    Code:
    lspci -k |grep -i Audio
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72
    Hello,

    The result in the terminal is:

    lspci -k |grep -i Audio


    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
    01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RV710/730
    06:00.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs [SB Live! Value] EMU10k1X


    Thank you

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72
    Bump please. I updated VLC but same problem. Seems to work better in the MONO setting but I have to keep changing the channels as I watch a video?????????????


    Ideas

    Thank you

  8. #7
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    How many sound cards do you have?? It looks like 3 devices to me.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72
    It does show 3 under sound preferences. I have disabled 2 of then leaving only the sound blaster, set to 5.1 as my set up is ( I think )

  10. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I assume you have tried to use the other soundcards to no avail?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72
    yes, I have been playing around with the settings to see what happens. Even within VLC I have been trying different setting. I just tried turning off the SB cards and using the RV710 and I get no sound at all.

    Could it be a VLC problem?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •